Flags of Ukraine and EU

Candidate status is the powerful European response to Putin's brutal aggression

Feature photo: flags of Ukraine and the EU | © Shutterstock

In my capacity as European policy spokesman for the FDP parliamentary group, I have the following position on the EU Commission's recommendation to nominate Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova as EU accession candidates:

Candidate status has never been more symbolic than in the case of Ukraine. It is logical and appropriate to give Ukraine candidate status at the next EU summit. The people of Ukraine are fighting for the freedom of Europe and this deserves our support.

The pro-European EU neighbor Moldova also needs the backing of candidate status, because Russia has been undermining its statehood for years.

Candidate status is the strong European response to Putin's brutal aggression. We also welcome the prospect of accession that has been announced for Georgia. But it is also clear that it will take a very long time for these countries to open negotiations, let alone for them to join. Accession must be preceded by difficult conflict resolutions and far-reaching reforms.

The granting of candidate status must therefore be linked to a clear commitment to fundamental reforms on the part of the candidates, but also on the part of the EU itself. With its current structures, the EU would not be able to absorb them. In order not to lose valuable time in view of the increasing system rivalry with Russia and China, the accession process should also be modernized, e.g. B. through intermediate steps such as participation of the candidates in the European Economic Area (EEA). However, such intermediate steps must also be open to those accession candidates in the Western Balkans who have been pushing for serious reforms for a long time and have so far been waiting in vain for recognition.


You can find out more about the European Union (EU) and also about who can become a member of the EU in this somewhat older blog post.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Flaggen der Ukraine und der EU

Kandidatenstatus ist die starke europäische Antwort auf Putins brutale Aggression

Beitragsfoto: Flaggen der Ukraine und der EU | © Shutterstock

Zur Empfehlung der EU-Kommission, die Ukraine und die Republik Moldau zu EU-Beitrittskandidaten zu ernennen, nehme ich in meiner Funktion als europapolitischer Sprecher der FDP-Fraktion wie folgt Stellung:

Nie zuvor hatte der Kandidatenstatus höhere Symbolkraft als im Falle der Ukraine. Es ist folgerichtig und angemessen, der Ukraine beim nächsten EU-Gipfel den Kandidatenstatus zu verleihen. Die Menschen in der Ukraine kämpfen für die Freiheit Europas und das verdient unsere Unterstützung.

Auch der pro-europäische EU-Nachbar Moldau benötigt den Rückhalt des Kandidatenstatus, denn seine Staatlichkeit wird seit Jahren durch Russland untergraben.

Der Kandidatenstatus ist die starke europäische Antwort auf Putins brutale Aggression. Auch die Georgien in Aussicht gestellte Beitrittsperspektive begrüßen wir. Klar ist aber auch, dass eine Verhandlungseröffnung, geschweige denn ein Beitritt dieser Länder, sehr lange dauern wird. Einem Beitritt müssen schwierige Konfliktlösungen und tief gehende Reformen vorausgehen.

Mit der Verleihung des Kandidatenstatus muss daher das klare Bekenntnis zu grundlegenden Reformen seitens der Kandidaten, aber auch seitens der EU selbst verbunden sein. Mit ihren heutigen Strukturen wäre die EU nicht aufnahmefähig. Um angesichts der zunehmenden Systemrivalität mit Russland und China nicht kostbare Zeit zu verlieren, sollte auch der Beitrittsprozess modernisiert werden, z. B. durch Zwischenschritte wie eine Teilnahme der Kandidaten am Europäischen Wirtschaftsraum (EWR). Solche Zwischenschritte müssen aber auch jenen Beitrittskandidaten auf dem Westbalkan offen stehen, die seit Langem ernsthafte Reformen vorantreiben und bisher vergebens auf Anerkennung warten.


Mehr über die Europäische Union (EU) und auch darüber, wer Mitglied der EU werden kann, finden Sie in diesem schon etwas älteren Blog-Beitrag.

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.