Strasbourg Talks of Young European Federalists

Feature photo: Strasbourg Talks 2019 | © JEF

“The Rhine in community’ as a central topic of the Strasbourg talks is a very good example of the first European unification efforts, but it can also offer a starting point for new, future federal structures in a potential federal state of Europe due to the constant further development. I would like to take up the invitation in the JEF policy paper "Federalism" from March 2021 for "continuous discussion" and add a few comments. https://www.jef.de/foederalismus/

Allow me a brief historical recourse:

Regulations for free shipping and the dismantling of the existing customs and tariff systems for shipping traffic on the Rhine have existed in earlier treaties for several centuries, but could not be enforced in practice for a long time; from the Peace of Westphalia 1648 at the end of the Thirty Years' War, 30 in the Peace Treaty of Rijswijk, which ended the Palatinate War of Succession, 1697 in the Reichsdeputationshauptschluss of Regensburg, 1803 in the Rhine Shipping Octroi Treaty of Paris, 1804 as part of the Confederation of the Rhine. With the first Peace of Paris of May 1806, 30, the principle of freedom of navigation was introduced on the major international inland waterways of Europe. In 1814, the Congress of Vienna again decided on freedom of navigation for international waters and for the Rhine to set up a central commission for navigation on the Rhine, which met for the first time in 1815 in Mainz. On March 1816, 31, the "Mainzer Akte" was agreed. This agreement eliminated, among other things, stacking and handling rights originating from the Middle Ages as well as privileges of seafarers' guilds and taxes arising from them. 
After the commission had been moved to Mannheim in 1861, the Mannheim Act was signed on October 17, 1868 by Baden, Bavaria, France, Hesse, the Netherlands and Prussia.
The Mannheim file (officially: Revised Rhine Shipping Act of October 17, 1868) is an international agreement that still regulates shipping traffic on the Rhine and its principles are still valid today. With the Treaty of Versailles, the seat of the Central Commission was moved to Strasbourg in 1920. A follow-up agreement that came into force in 1967 confirmed the principles of the Mannheim Act, and Switzerland, as a state bordering the Rhine, also became a signatory state. In this respect, the Central Commission is the first international organization worldwide and at the same time the oldest still existing. 

So much for a nice example of the arduous path to a common European solution that emerged from armed conflicts. 

In the meantime, however, the European states have also agreed to European Union further developed, which was also given political responsibilities over the Rhine. A Union with an internal market and the basic freedoms of free movement of goods, services, capital and people. As a cornerstone of European integration, transport is therefore of decisive importance for the realization of these freedoms and, with more than 9%, contributes significantly to the EU's gross value added.

The EU transport policy includes all types of transport: road, rail, air, sea and inland waterway transport. 

The related policy areas and responsibilities are the responsibility of the European Commission within the framework of shared competence (Art of the TFEU): The EU and EU countries can legislate and adopt binding legal acts. However, EU countries can only exercise their competence if the EU does not exercise its competence or has decided not to exercise its own competence.

There is thus some overlap in the responsibilities of the Central Commission and the European Commission, which are now being reconciled through administrative arrangements designed to strengthen cooperation between the two institutions. Their common objectives are to ensure the optimal functioning of the inland waterway market and to remove the barriers to greater use of waterways as a mode of transport.

The promotion of sustainable transport and the elimination of bottlenecks in central transport infrastructures is also one of the thematic goals for cohesion policy. Projects are financed with the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and the Cohesion Fund for the – – development of a multimodal single European transport area (TEN-T), – Expansion of regional mobility by connecting secondary and tertiary transport nodes to the TEN-T infrastructure, including multimodal nodes (ERDF); and - most recently in relation to the european green deal - the development and improvement of environmentally friendly (including silent) and low-carbon transport systems, including inland waterways and sea transport, ports, multimodal connections and airport infrastructure, to promote sustainable regional and local mobility; including interoperable rail systems. 

It is always fascinating to see the changes in the overall view - also in the language and the terms used - and to imagine the possible further developments.

European development – ​​new federal structures

European Territorial Cooperation (ETC), also known as Interreg, is one of the main objectives of Cohesion Policy and provides a legal framework for the implementation of joint activities for actors at national, regional and local level from different member states (cross-border (Interreg A), transnational (Interreg B) and interregional (Interreg C).

At the European level, new structures have been formed for this purpose, the European Groupings of Territorial Cooperation / European Associations of Territorial Cooperation (EGTC/EGTC), which also include large regions, euroregions and eurodistricts; (meanwhile 81 EGTCs/EGTCs) also the development of European metropolitan regions with their own responsibilities and association structures within the member states or also across borders, represent new federal area structures. 

Various European associations have formed along the Rhine, such as the "Interregional Alliance for the Rhine-Alpine Corridor" (with 26 partners from Rotterdam to Genoa), the Euroregion "PAMINA" (Palatinat/South Palatinate, Middle Upper Rhine/Baden and North Alsace/Elsass), the Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region (MRN, with Ba-Wü, Hessen, RLP), the trinational Upper Rhine metropolitan region (TMO with Baden-Württemberg, Rhineland-Palatinate, Alsace and the north-west cantons of Switzerland), or the Strasbourg-Ortenau Eurodistrict. The greater region of Saar-Lor-Lux is also linked to the Rhine line through the membership of Rhineland-Palatinate. 

https://portal.cor.europa.eu/egtc/Platform/Pages/welcome.aspx
https://portal.cor.europa.eu/egtc/CoRActivities/Pages/egtc-list.aspx

New federal structures towards a European federal state and demands on the conference on the future of Europe.

Such structures as the now 81 EGTCs can have the potential to influence the federalism debate and to promote the development towards a federal state of Europe, albeit “beyond” the previous terms and modalities. A discussion of the further development of the EU into a federal state with a constitution must therefore also aim to clarify the concept of "federalism" and a uniform understanding of federalism throughout Europe. 

In their policy paper published in March 2021, the JEF described the discussions on European federalism and rightly pointed out that “the distribution of competences in a federal system is not carved in stone, but represents living constitutional law. Because in federalism there are no definitive solutions, but a constant negotiation of the best approach to society's problems. Last but not least, the strength of federalism is that it allows ongoing democratic and dynamic discussion and at the same time is also constituted by it." (https://www.jef.de/foederalismus/)

The JEF policy paper on federalism ends with an invitation to engage with European federalism on an ongoing basis. Understanding the historical and ongoing development "around and around the Rhine" may contribute to this ongoing debate.

This undoubtedly and necessarily includes such events as the "Strasbourg Talks", but also in-depth academic talks and colloquia on "transnational regions" (–> LV Saar ?)

The resolutions and demands of the Federal Congress of the EUD should also be part of this: I would just like to refer to the recently passed resolution of the Federal Congress.

Strengthening the Europe of local authorities and regions

In it, the EUD calls for the role of the municipalities and regions to be strengthened as units close to the citizens through a mandatory hearing of the Committee of the Regions before the start of the actual legislative process for projects affecting municipal and regional self-government.

To this end, the EUD specifically demands that, as a first step, the EU Commission must carry out a more active subsidiarity check on all initiatives and legislative projects. As part of the necessary impact assessment/subsidiarity assessment, the ecological, social and economic effects on the municipalities and regions should also be examined more and more comprehensively.

Furthermore, the EU Commission is asked to submit proposals on how the new structures such as city federations and cross-border regional associations (European groupings of territorial cooperation, EGTC) and metropolitan regions can be given a stronger role and how their own responsibilities can be given in the "European decision-making concert".

I wish the Strasbourg talks every success and I look forward to further discussions and to the conclusions and resolutions on the Conference on the future of Europe.


peter schulze is chairman of Europa-Union Mannheim and a member of the state board of Europa-Union Baden-Württemberg. He is a founding member of the Europa-Union Luxembourg and worked as a European official at the European Commission in various policy areas in Brussels and Luxembourg until August 2019.

I am very happy to welcome him here as a guest blogger!

You can support this weblog on Patreon!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Straßburger Gespräche 2019

Straßburger Gespräche der Jungen Europäischen Föderalisten

Beitragsfoto: Straßburger Gespräche 2019 | © JEF

„Der Rhein in Gemeinschaft“ als zentrales Thema der Straßburger Gespräche ist ein sehr gutes Beispiel für erste europäische Einigungsbemühungen, kann aber auch gerade durch die beständige Weiterentwicklung einen Ansatzpunkt für neue, zukünftige föderale Strukturen in einem potentiellen Bundesstaat Europa bieten. Ich würde hier gerne die Einladung im JEF Grundsatzpapier „Föderalismus“ vom März  2021 zur „kontinuierlichen Diskussion“ aufgreifen und hierzu einige Anmerkungen beitragen. https://www.jef.de/foederalismus/

Erlauben Sie mir einen kurzen historischen Recours:

Regelungen zur freien Schifffahrt und dem Abbau der bestehenden Zoll- und Tarifssysteme beim Schiffsverkehr auf dem Rhein, gab es schon in früheren Vertragswerken seit einigen Jahrhunderten, konnten in der Praxis aber lange nicht durchgesetzt werden; vom Westfälischen Frieden 1648 am Ende des 30-jährigen Krieges, 1697 im Friedensvertrag von Rijswijk, der den Pfälzischen Erbfolgekrieg beendete, 1803 im Reichsdeputationshauptschluss von Regensburg, 1804 im Rheinschifffahrts-Octroi-Vertrag von Paris, 1806 im Rahmen des Rheinbundes. Mit dem ersten Pariser Frieden vom 30. Mai 1814 wird der Grundsatz der Schifffahrtsfreiheit auf den großen internationalen Binnenschifffahrtsstraßen Europa eingeführt. 1815 beschloss der Wiener Kongress erneut die Schifffahrtsfreiheit für internationale Gewässer und für den Rhein die Einrichtung einer Zentralkommission für die Rheinschifffahrt, die erstmals 1816 in Mainz tagte. Am 31. März 1831 vereinbarte man die „Mainzer Akte“. Dieses Abkommen beseitigte unter anderem aus dem Mittelalter stammende Stapel- und Umschlagsrechte sowie Privilegien von Schiffergilden und aus diesen entspringende Abgaben. 
Nach Verlegung der Kommission 1861 nach Mannheim wurde am 17. Oktober 1868 die Mannheimer Akte von Baden, Bayern, Frankreich, Hessen, den Niederlanden und Preußen unterzeichnet.
Die Mannheimer Akte (offiziell: Revidierte Rheinschiffahrtsakte vom 17. Oktober 1868) ist ein internationales Abkommen, das auch heute noch den Schiffsverkehr auf dem Rhein regelt und in ihren Grundsätzen bis heute gültig ist. Mit dem Versailler Vertrag wurde der Sitz der Zentralkommission 1920 nach Straßburg verlegt. Ein Nachfolgeabkommen, das 1967 in Kraft trat, bestätigte die Grundsätze der Mannheimer Akte, und die Schweiz wurde als Rheinanlegerstaat ebenfalls Signaturstaat. Die Zentralkommission ist insofern die erste internationale Organisation weltweit und zugleich die älteste noch heute bestehende. 

Soweit ein schönes Beispiel für den mühsamen Weg einer gemeinsamen europäischen Lösung, die aus kriegerischen Auseinandersetzungen hervorgegangen ist. 

Inzwischen haben sich die europäischen Staaten aber auch zur Europäischen Union weiterentwickelt, der auch politische Zuständigkeiten über den Rhein übertragen wurde. Eine Union mit einem Binnenmarkt und den verbrieften Grundfreiheiten des freien Waren-, Dienstleistungs- sowie des Kapitalverkehrs und der Personenverkehrsfreiheit. Der Verkehr ist damit als Eckpfeiler der Europäischen Integration von entscheidender Bedeutung für die Verwirklichung dieser Freiheiten und trägt immerhin mit mehr als 9 % maßgeblich zur Bruttowertschöpfung der EU bei.

Die EU-Verkehrspolitik schließt dabei alle Arten der Beförderung ein: den Straßen-, Schienen-, Luft-, See- und Binnenschiffsverkehr. 

Die damit verbundenen Politikbereiche und -Zuständigkeiten sind auf die Europäische Kommission im Rahmen der geteilten Zuständigkeit (Artikel des AEUV) übertragen: Die EU und die EU-Länder können gesetzgeberisch tätig sein und verbindliche Rechtsakte erlassen. Die EU-Länder können ihre Zuständigkeit jedoch nur wahrnehmen, falls die EU ihre Zuständigkeit nicht ausübt bzw. entschieden hat, ihre eigene Zuständigkeit nicht auszuüben.

Es gibt also gewisse Überschneidungen in den Zuständigkeiten der Zentralkommission und der Europäischen Kommission, die inzwischen durch Verwaltungsvereinbarungen zur Stärkung der Zusammenarbeit zwischen den beiden Institutionen abgestimmt werden. Ihre gemeinsamen Ziele bestehen in der Gewährleistung eines optimalen Funktionierens des Binnenschifffahrtsmarktes und der Beseitigung der Hemmnisse für eine stärkere Nutzung des Verkehrsträgers Wasserstraße.

Die Förderung des nachhaltigen Transports und die Beseitigung von Engpässen in zentralen Transportinfrastrukturen ist aber auch eines der thematischen Ziele für die Kohäsionspolitik. Mit dem Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) und dem Kohäsionsfonds werden Projekte finanziert zur – – Entwicklung eines multimodalen einheitlichen europäischen Verkehrsraums (TEN-V), – Erweiterung der regionalen Mobilität durch die Verbindung sekundärer und tertiärer Verkehrsknoten zur TEN-V-Infrastruktur, einschließlich multimodaler Knoten (EFRE); und – ganz aktuell in Bezug auf den european green deal – – die Entwicklung und Verbesserung von umweltfreundlichen (auch geräuscharmen) und CO2-armen Verkehrssystemen, einschließlich Binnenschifffahrt und Seetransport, Häfen, multimodale Verbindungen und Flughafeninfrastruktur, zur Förderung der nachhaltigen regionalen und lokalen Mobilität; einschließlich interoperabler Schienensystemen. 

Es ist immer wieder faszinierend, die Veränderungen in der Gesamtbetrachtung – auch in der Sprache und den verwendeten Begriffen – zu sehen und sich die möglichen Weiterentwicklungen vorzustellen.

Europäische Weiterentwicklung –  neue föderale Strukturen

Europäische territoriale Zusammenarbeit (ETC), auch als Interreg bekannt,  ist eine der Hauptziele der Kohäsionspolitik und bietet einen Rechtsrahmen für die Umsetzung von gemeinsamen Aktivitäten für die Akteure auf nationaler, regionaler und lokaler Ebene aus verschiedenen Mitgliedsstaaten (cross-border (Interreg A), transnational (Interreg B) und interregional (Interreg C).

Auf europäischer Ebene haben sich hierzu neue Strukturen gebildet, die European Groupings of Territorial Cooperation / Europäische Verbünde der territorialen Zusammenarbeit (EGTC/EVTZ), zu denen auch Großregionen, Euroregionen , Eurodistrikte zählen; (inzwischen 81 EGTCs/EVTZs) auch die Entwicklung von Europäischen Metropolregionen mit eigenen Zuständigkeiten und Verbandstrukturen innerhalb der Mitgliedsstaaten oder auch grenzüberschreitend, stellen neue föderale Gebietsstrukturen dar. 

Entlang des Rheins haben sich sich hierzu verschiedene europäische Verbünde gebildet, wie z.B. die „Interregionale Allianz für den Rhein-Alpen Korridor“ (mit 26 Partnern von Rotterdam bis Genua), die Euroregion „PAMINA“ (Palatinat/Südpfalz, Mittlerer Oberrhein/Baden und Nord Alsace/Elsass), die Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar (MRN, mit Ba-Wü, Hessen , RLP), die trinationale Metropolregion Oberrhein (TMO mit Baden-Württemberg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Elsass und den Nordwest-Kantonen der Schweiz), oder den Eurodistrikt Straßbourg-Ortenau . Auch die Großregion Saar-Lor-Lux ist durch die Mitgliedschaft von Rheinland-Pfalz mit der Rheinschiene verknüpft. 

https://portal.cor.europa.eu/egtc/Platform/Pages/welcome.aspx
https://portal.cor.europa.eu/egtc/CoRActivities/Pages/egtc-list.aspx

Neue Föderalstrukturen hin zu einem europäischen Bundesstaat und Forderungen an die Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas.

Solche Strukturen wie die inzwischen 81 EGTCs können das Potential haben, die Föderalismusdiskussion zu beeinflussen und die Entwicklung hin zu einem Bundesstaat Europa zu fördern, wenn auch „jenseits“ der bisherigen Begriffe und Modalitäten. Eine Diskussion der Weiterentwicklung der EU zu einem Bundesstaat mit einer Verfassung muss daher auch die Klärung des „Föderalismus“ -begriffs und ein einheitliches Föderalismusverständnis europweit zum Ziel haben. 

Die JEF haben in ihrem im März 2021 veröffentlichten Grundsatzpapier die Diskussionen zum europäischen Föderalismus beschrieben und richtig darauf hingewiesen, dass „die Kompetenzverteilung in einem föderalen System nicht in Stein gemeißelt ist, sondern lebendiges Verfassungsrecht darstellt. Denn im Föderalismus gibt es keine endgültigen Lösungen, sondern ein stetiges Aushandeln des besten Herangehens an die Probleme der Gesellschaft. Die Stärke des Föderalismus ist nicht zuletzt, dass er eine fortlaufende demokratische und dynamische Diskussion zulässt und sich gleichzeitig durch diese auch konstituiert. (https://www.jef.de/foederalismus/)

Das JEF Grundsatzpapier zum Föderalismus, endet mit der Einladung zur kontinuierlichen Auseinandersetzung mit dem europäischen Föderalismus. Das Verständnis der historischen und anhaltenden Weiterentwicklung „um und um den Rhein herum“ mag zu dieser kontinuierlichen Auseinandersetzung beitragen.

Dazu gehören zweifellos und notwendig solche Veranstaltungen wie die „Straßburger Gespräche“ ,  aber auch vertiefte wissenschaftliche Gespräche und Kolloquien über „transnationale Regionen“ (–>LV Saar ?)

Ein Bestandteil hierzu sollen auch die Beschlüsse und die Forderungen des Bundeskongress der EUD sein: Ich möchte hier nur auf den kürzlich gefassten Beschluß des Bundeskongresses verweisen.

Das Europa der Kommunen und Regionen stärken

Darin fordert die EUD die Rolle der Kommunen und Regionen als bürgernahe Einheiten zu stärken durch eine verpflichtende Anhörung des Ausschusses der Regionen vor dem Start des eigentlichen Gesetzgebungsprozesses bei Vorhaben, die die kommunale und regionale Selbstverwaltung betreffen.

Hierzu fordert die EUD konkret, dass in enem ersten Schritt die EU Kommission eine aktivere Subsidiaritätsprüfung bei allen Initiativen und Gesetzesvorhaben durchführen muss. Im Rahmen der erforderlichen Folgenabschätzung/Subsidiaritätsprüfung sollen auch die ökologischen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen auf die Kommunen und Regionen mehr und umfassender geprüft werden.

Weiterhin wird die EU Kommission aufgefordert, Vorschläge zu unterbreiten, wie den neuen Strukturen wie Städtebünden und grenzüberschreitenden Regionalverbänden (european groupings of territorial cooperation, EGTC) und Metropolregionen eine stärkere Rolle gegeben werden und eigene Zuständigkeiten im „europäischen Entscheidungskonzert“ gegeben werden können.

Ich wünsche ein gutes Gelingen der Straßburger Gespräche und freue mich auf die weiteren Diskussionen und bin gespannt auf die Schlussfolgerungen und Beschlüsse zur Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas.


Peter Schulze ist Vorsitzender der Europa-Union Mannheim und Mitglied im Landesvorstand der Europa-Union Baden-Württemberg. Er ist Gründungsmitglied der Europa-Union Luxemburg und war bis August 2019 als europäischer Beamter bei der Europäischen Kommission in verschiedenen Politikbereichen in Brüssel und Luxemburg tätig.

Ich freue mich sehr, ihn nun hier als Gastblogger begrüßen zu dürfen!

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.