Where is the Heilbronn social quota in housing construction?

Feature photo: Vienna, Ostaspern | © Shutterstock

In Heilbronn, at least 10 households, including numerous families with children, are currently dependent on affordable rented accommodation. That is around a quarter of Heilbronn's population. Since 800, the city of Heilbronn has approved around 2010 housing entitlement certificates, the entry ticket for a socially subsidized rental apartment. It is subject to income limits.

According to the city's construction monitor, the average rent for new apartments rose by an impressive 2013 percent between 2020 and 65; in 2020 it was 13,26 euros per square meter; In 2013 it was eight euros.

What is missing in the region and city of Heilbronn is a binding social quota for housing construction. For the Heilbronn municipal council, this is obviously a hot topic that has not yet been dared to be touched. To date, the committee has not been able to bring itself to a regulation that other cities have long since introduced as a regulatory instrument to reduce the pressure on the housing market: in Mannheim the mandatory quota is 30 percent for ten residential units or more, in Karlsruhe it is 30 percent, in Heidelberg and Stuttgart at 20 percent. Freiburg is the leader with a social quota of 50 percent.

My demand: only a binding social quota of at least 30 percent, preferably 50 percent, can lead to relaxation on the region's housing market in the medium term. I recommend that the rural district municipalities set up a joint initiative for affordable housing in order to create more affordable housing.

It is a sham to announce a high number of building permits when at the same time it is kept secret that hardly any social housing and affordable living space are being built or that the expiry of social ties and the sale of social housing are not offset.

The current report on construction activity in Heilbronn is the best example. Between 2016 and 2020, exactly 2457 new residential units came onto the market in Heilbronn. What is missing from the statistics, however, is that the proportion of social rental housing has continued to fall.

After that, the number of socially subsidized rental units in Heilbronn fell from 1323 (2020) to 1308 (end of 2022). At the end of 2030 there are only 1033 social housing units left in the city of Heilbronn - far too few for the enormous demand.

In the district of Heilbronn, too, social housing will shrink from 249 (2020) to 2030 by 214. Under construction: only 14 apartments, planned for a total of 200. In the district: four apartments under construction, with 85 planned.


"Everyone has the right to a standard of living adequate for the health and well-being of himself and of his family, including ... housing."

Universal Declaration of Human Rights, Article 25

2 thoughts on "Where is the Heilbronn social quota in housing construction?"

    1. The post photo is my responsibility. I have added a photo to the post that was already in the fundus. But I'll be happy to take up your idea and see if I can take a suitable photo during one of my upcoming walks.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

Wo bleibt die Heilbronner Sozialquote im Wohnungsbau?

Beitragsfoto: Wien, Ostaspern | © Shutterstock

In Heilbronn sind derzeit mindestens rund 10 800 Haushalte, darunter zahlreiche Familien mit Kindern, auf eine günstige Mietwohnung angewiesen. Das ist rund ein Viertel der Heilbronner Bevölkerung. Seit 2010 bewilligte die Stadt Heilbronn rund 5 000 Wohnberechtigungsscheine, die Eintrittskarte für eine sozial geförderte Mietwohnung. Sie ist an Einkommensgrenzen gebunden.

Die mittlere Kaltmiete für neue Wohnungen ist laut Baumonitor der Stadt zwischen 2013 und 2020 um stolze 65 Prozent angestiegen; im Jahr 2020 lag sie bei 13,26 Euro pro Quadratmeter; 2013 waren es noch acht Euro.

Was in der Region und Stadt Heilbronn fehlt, ist eine verbindliche Sozialquote für den Wohnungsbau. Für den Heilbronner Gemeinderat ist das offenbar ein heißes Eisen, das man bisher nicht anzufassen wagte. Das Gremium konnte sich bis heute nicht zu einer Regelung durchringen, die andere Städte längst als Regelinstrument eingeführt haben, um den Druck auf dem Wohnungsmarkt zu reduzieren: In Mannheim liegt die verpflichtende Quote bei 30 Prozent ab zehn Wohneinheiten, in Karlsruhe bei 30 Prozent, in Heidelberg und Stuttgart bei 20 Prozent. Spitzenreiter ist Freiburg mit einer Sozialquote von 50 Prozent.

Meine Forderung: Nur eine verbindliche Sozialquote von mindestens 30 Prozent, besser 50 Prozent, kann auf mittlere Sicht zur Entspannung auf dem Wohnungsmarkt der Region führen. Den Landkreisgemeinden empfehle ich, eine gemeinsame Initiative für bezahlbaren Wohnraum ins Leben zu rufen, um mehr preisgünstigen Wohnraum zu schaffen.

Es ist eine Augenwischerei, eine hohe Zahl an Baugenehmigungen zu verkünden, wenn gleichzeitig verschwiegen wird, dass kaum noch Sozialwohnungen und günstiger Wohnraum gebaut werden bzw. das Auslaufen von Sozialbindungen und der Verkauf von Sozialwohnungen nicht gegengerechnet wird.

Der aktuelle Bericht zur Bautätigkeit in Heilbronn ist das beste Beispiel. Zwar kamen in Heilbronn zwischen 2016 und 2020 genau 2457 Wohneinheiten neu auf den Markt. In der Statistik fehlt aber, dass der Anteil der Sozialmietwohnungen weiter abgesunken ist.

Danach ging die Zahl der sozial geförderten Mieteinheiten in Heilbronn von 1323 (2020) auf 1308 (Ende 2022) zurück. Ende 2030 sind in der Stadt Heilbronn nur noch 1033 Sozialwohnungen vorhanden – viel zu wenige für den enormen Bedarf.

Auch im Landkreis Heilbronn werden die Sozialwohnungen von 249 (2020) bis 2030 auf 214 schrumpfen. Im Bau: lediglich 14 Wohnungen, geplant insgesamt 200. Im Landkreis: vier Wohnungen im Bau, in Planung 85.


„Everyone has the right to a standard of living adequate for the health and well-being of himself and of his family, including … housing.“

Universal Declaration of Human Rights, Artikel 25
Sie können dieses Weblog auf Patreon unterstützen!

2 thoughts on “Wo bleibt die Heilbronner Sozialquote im Wohnungsbau?

    1. Das Beitragsfoto liegt in meiner Verantwortung. Ich habe den Beitrag mit einem Foto ergänzt, welches bereits im Fundus vorhanden war. Ich nehme Ihre Idee aber gerne auf und gucke, ob ich bei einem meiner kommenden Spaziergänge ein passendes Foto machen kann.

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.