Ukraine | Climate Disasters | gas crisis | Putin doctrine

Feature photo: Image by S. Hermann & F. Richter | © Pixabay 

If Russia invades Ukraine, what happens next?

David A. Lake enters the Washington Post on January 22, 2022, with a sobering conclusion about Ukraine. The fact that the EU plays no role at all is not only self-evident, but also completely justified!

In his contribution, he attempts to explain that the only halfway viable measure left to the US would be to support Ukrainian resistance fighters in the event that the Russian Federation establishes a satellite government in Ukraine, or, less likely, itself occupy Ukraine in its entirety.

He sees the support given to the Afghan rebels after the Soviet troops invaded in 1979 as a successful example. But he also makes it very clear that even after the US has successfully supported the insurgents, which alone will be very expensive, the success of this would then be even more expensive for the US because it will then be forced to help with the reconstruction of the country .

In the worst case, the US could even be dragged into the conflict itself — Afghanistan is a good example here, too.

Here is the relevant article in the Washington Post:

https://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/2022/01/22/if-russia-invades-ukraine-what-happens-next/


How to Avoid a Climate Disaster

Bill Gates must be one of the most famous living people ever. In any case, he is one of the richest in the world. He has been committed to well-intentioned aid projects worldwide for a long time and is probably one of the most generous people of our time.

It is probably less known that Gates reads a lot and has done so for some time own blog operates and writes book recommendations. And new to me that he also writes his own books.

His latest book is 230 pages about climate change and aims to show the solutions we already have and the technological advances we still need.

Bill Gates is convinced that we must 1. reduce greenhouse gas emissions to zero in order to be able to prevent another climate catastrophe. 2. That we need to expand wind and solar energy worldwide and as quickly as possible. And 3. we have to develop and implement new groundbreaking ideas as quickly as possible in order to still be able to achieve success.

His statement is unequivocal: simply reducing greenhouse gas emissions is far too short-sighted. Nevertheless, I am convinced that if he could influence his old company Microsoft, not only to streamline Microsoft products, but also to make them efficient for the first time, we could shut down countless coal-fired power plants today.

But that's a completely different construction site. In any case, his book is a quick read and also a very good introduction to the subject.

You can purchase the book on Amazon here: https://amzn.to/3rVwLRU


Who is really to blame for the gas crisis?

Thomas Stoelzel  and Florian Guessgen checked the facts in Wirtschaftswoche on January 25, 2022. Even if Germany needs more gas in the medium term because the nuclear power plants will be shut down in 2022 and then the coal-fired power plants will soon be shut down, this is not the cause of the current situation.

So Stözel and Güßgen take a closer look and check the validity of the current statements from all sides. In short, the Russian Federation could do more.

However, it would certainly be better for everyone involved if gas consumption were reduced overall and its origin further diversified.

You can find the corresponding article in Wirtschaftswoche here:

https://www.wiwo.de/unternehmen/energie/energieknappheit-wer-ist-wirklich-schuld-an-der-gaskrise-ein-daten-und-faktencheck/28005328-all.html


The Putin Doctrine

Angela Stent wrote in Foreign Affairs on January 27, 2022 about what she calls the Putin doctrine, certainly a nod to his Ukraine doctrine, where in a fundamental article he invokes the “historical unity” of Russians and Ukrainians without failing to do so to massively threaten the latter.

In her contribution, she describes the latest developments in Russia since Putin came to power, whose behavior reminds me more and more of Hitler's after the loss of the First World War. In any case, “Russian megalomania” testifies to the fact that nationally minded Russians are no less inferior to their French or German nationalist “brothers” — in this respect, Russia is simply a part of the superstate Europe whose megalomania has terrorized the world for over three centuries .

So I believe that Stent is wrong in continuing to count Russia among the world powers alongside China, India and the USA. Because Russia, like the rest of Europe, is a relic now — entirely dependent on the weal and woe of its larger neighbors. That is why Russia's last rebellion is so dangerous, and we Europeans should do our best to avoid letting ourselves be infected by this Russian (European?) megalomania — Emmanuel Macron and its potential successors are already very quick.

If there were still a responsible European policy, then it would be the task of the Europeans to convince Putin that Russia can do more for Russia with EU and NATO cooperation than to make a vain attempt to dominate Europe by dominating the rest wanting to "dominate" the world. Because the three remaining great powers will never allow this, and China only supports Russia for as long as it will be useful in the dispute with the USA.

On the one hand, Europe must keep up the threads of dialogue with Putin in order to be able to convince him after all - this did not work out with Hitler, however - and on the other hand, strengthen its defense capabilities in close cooperation with the USA and Canada as quickly as possible to prevent a Russian attack after all to fend off with as few own losses as possible.

In any case, a Russian attack on NATO will mean the end of Russia. And for everyone involved, that ending will be very costly — just think what it would cost the US and Europe alone to have to rebuild not just Ukraine, but then Belarus and the Russian Federation as well.

And that is probably Putin's greatest trump card! The Western world simply cannot (or will) afford to see all Russians suddenly become democrats and demand from the West exactly the support that Eastern Europeans already received after the collapse of the Soviet regime in 1990.

Due to the European disunity and its own weakness in democracy, Putin can continue to live and also try to get bigger and bigger pieces of the European cake.

Angela Stent ends her article as follows: "The current crisis is ultimately about Russia redrawing the post-Cold War map and seeking to reassert its influence over half of Europe, based on the claim that it is guaranteeing its own security. It may be possible to avert a military conflict this time. But as long as Putin remains in power, so will his doctrine.”

Here is the relevant article in Foreign Affairs:

https://www.foreignaffairs.com/articles/ukraine/2022-01-27/putin-doctrine


"It is easy to feel powerless in the face of a problem as big as climate change. But you're not powerless. And you don't have to be a politician or a philanthropist to make a difference. You have influence as a citizen, a consumer, and an employee or employer.”

Bill Gates, How to Avoid a Climate Disaster (2021: 218)
You can support this weblog on Patreon!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Bücherregal

Ukraine | Climate Disaster | Gaskrise | Putin-Doktrin

Beitragsfoto: Bild von S. Hermann & F. Richter | © Pixabay 

If Russia invades Ukraine, what happens next?

David A. Lake zieht in der Washington Post am 22. Januar 2022 ein, die Ukraine betreffendes, ernüchterndes Fazit. Dass die EU dabei überhaupt keine Rolle spielt, ist nicht nur selbstverständlich, sondern auch völlig gerechtfertigt!

In seinem Beitrag versucht er zu erklären, dass die einzig halbwegs tragbare Maßnahme, die den USA übrig bleibt, eine Unterstützung von ukrainischen Widerstandskämpfern wäre, und zwar im Falle, dass die Russische Föderation eine Satellitenregierung in der Ukraine einsetzt oder, weniger wahrscheinlich, selber die Ukraine in Gänze besetzen wird.

Als gelungenes Beispiel sieht er die Unterstützung der afghanischen Rebellen nach dem Einmarsch der Sowjettruppen 1979 an. Aber er macht dabei auch eindeutig klar, dass den USA selbst nach einer erfolgreichen Unterstützung der Aufständischen, was schon alleine sehr teuer sein wird, deren Erfolg dann für die USA noch teurer werden würde, weil man danach gezwungen ist, beim Wiederaufbau des Landes zu unterstützen.

Im schlimmsten Falle könnten die USA sogar noch in den Konflikt selbst mit hineingezogen werden — auch hierbei ist Afghanistan ein gutes Beispiel.

Hier finden Sie den entsprechenden Artikel in der Washington Post:

https://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/2022/01/22/if-russia-invades-ukraine-what-happens-next/


How to Avoid a Climate Disaster

Bill Gates dürfte wohl einer der bekanntesten lebenden Menschen überhaupt sein. Auf jeden Fall aber zählt er zu den reichsten dieser Welt. Seit längerem setzt er sich für gutgemeinte Hilfsprojekte weltweit ein und dürfte auch zu einem der spendabelsten Menschen unserer Zeit zählen.

Wohl weniger bekannt ist, dass Gates sehr viel liest und seit einiger Zeit auch einen eigenen Blog betreibt sowie dazu Buchempfehlungen schreibt. Und für mich neu, dass er auch eigene Bücher verfasst.

Sein jüngstes Buch handelt auf 230 Seiten über den Klimawandel und möchte die Lösungen aufzeigen, die wir bereits haben und die technischen Errungenschaften, die wir noch benötigen.

Bill Gates ist davon überzeugt, dass wir 1. den Ausstoß von Treibhausgasen auf Null bringen müssen, um noch eine Klimakatastrophe verhindern zu können. 2. dass wir die Wind- und Solarenergie weltweit und so schnell wie irgend möglich ausbauen müssen. Und 3. müssen wir neue bahnbrechende Ideen so schnell wie möglich entwickeln und auch umsetzen, um noch einen Erfolg erzielen zu können.

Seine Aussage ist dabei eindeutig: den Ausstoß von Treibhausgasen nur zu reduzieren, ist viel zu kurz gesprungen. Dennoch bin ich davon überzeugt, dass wenn er in seiner alten Firma Microsoft Einfluss nehmend, diese dazu bewegen könnte, Microsoft Produkte nicht nur zu entschlacken, sondern auch erstmals effizient zu machen, wir schon heute unzählige Kohlekraftwerk stilllegen könnten.

Aber das ist schon wieder eine ganz andere Baustelle. Auf jeden Fall ist sein Buch schnell gelesen und auch eine ganz gute Einführung in das Thema.

Hier können Sie das Buch auf Amazon erwerben: https://amzn.to/3rVwLRU


Wer ist wirklich Schuld an der Gaskrise?

Thomas Stölzel und Florian Güßgen checkten am 25. Januar 2022 in der Wirtschaftswoche die Fakten. Auch wenn Deutschland mittelfristig mehr Gas braucht, weil 2022 die Atomkraftwerke und dann auch bald die Kohlekraftwerke abgeschaltet werden, ist dies nicht die Ursache der aktuelle Situation.

So schauen Stözel und Güßgen etwas genauer hin und prüfen die derzeitigen Aussagen aller Seiten auf deren Gültigkeit. Kurz und knapp, die Russische Föderation könnte durchaus mehr liefern.

Sicherlich wäre es für alle Beteiligten aber besser, wenn man sowohl den Gasverbrauch insgesamt reduzieren als auch dessen Herkunft weiter diversifizieren würde.

Hier finden Sie den entsprechenden Artikel in der Wirtschaftswoche:

https://www.wiwo.de/unternehmen/energie/energieknappheit-wer-ist-wirklich-schuld-an-der-gaskrise-ein-daten-und-faktencheck/28005328-all.html


The Putin Doctrine

Angela Stent schrieb am 27. Januar 2022 in Foreign Affairs über ein, von ihr so genanntes, Putin-Doktrin, sicherlich eine Anspielung auf dessen Ukraine-Doktrin, wo er in einem Grundsatzartikel die „historische Einheit“ von Russen und Ukrainern beschwört, ohne dabei zu versäumen, den letzteren massiv zu drohen.

In ihrem Beitrag schildert sie die jüngste russische Entwicklung seit der Machtergreifung Putins, dessen Gebaren mich immer mehr an die von Hitler nach dem verlorenen Ersten Weltkrieg erinnert. Auf jeden Fall aber bezeugt der „russische Größenwahn“, dass die national gesinnten Russen, ihren französischen oder deutschen nationalistischen „Brüdern“ in nichts nachstehen — diesbezüglich gehört Russland einfach zum Superstaat-Europa mit dazu, dessen Größenwahn die Welt bereits über drei Jahrhunderte hinweg terrorisierte.

So glaube ich, dass Stent falsch liegt, wenn sie Russland weiterhin, neben China, Indien und den USA, zu den Weltmächten zählt. Denn Russland ist, so wie der Rest Europas auch, nur noch ein Relikt — völlig abhängig vom Wohl und Wehe der größeren Nachbarn. Deshalb ist auch das letzte Aufbäumen Russlands so gefährlich, und wir Europäer sollten es tunlichst vermeiden, uns von dieser russischen (europäischen?) Großmannssucht anstecken zu lassen — Emmanuel Macron und seine potentiellen Nachfolger sind bereits schon ganz raschelig.

Wenn es noch eine verantwortungsvolle europäische Politik gäbe, dann wäre es die Aufgabe der Europäer, Putin davon zu überzeugen, dass Russland mit einer EU und NATO-Kooperation mehr für Russland machen kann, als den vergeblichen Versuch zu unternehmen, über die Dominierung Europas den Rest der Welt „beherrschen“ zu wollen. Denn dies werden die drei verbliebenen Großmächte nie zulassen, und China stützt Russland auch nur so lange, wie es in der Auseinandersetzung mit den USA dienlich sein wird.

So muss Europa zum einen die Gesprächsfäden mit Putin aufrechterhalten, um ihn vielleicht doch noch überzeugen zu können — hat bei Hitler allerdings nicht geklappt — und zum anderen seine Verteidigungsfähigkeit in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den USA und Kanadas schleunigst stärken, um ggf. doch einen russischen Angriff mit möglichst wenig eigenen Verlusten abwehren zu können.

Auf jeden Fall aber wird ein russischer Angriff auf die NATO das Ende Russlands bedeuten. Und für alle Beteiligten wird dieses Ende sehr kostspielig werden — man denke nur darüber nach, was es die USA und Europa alleine kosten würde, nicht nur die Ukraine, sondern dann auch Weißrussland und die Russische Föderation wieder aufbauen zu müssen.

Und das ist wohl Putins größter Trumpf! Die westliche Welt kann (oder will) es sich einfach nicht leisten, wenn plötzlich alle Russen Demokraten werden und vom Westen genau die Unterstützung verlangen, die die Osteuropäer nach dem Zusammenbruch des Sowjetregimes 1990 bereits erhalten haben.

Alleine aufgrund der europäischen Uneinigkeit und dessen eigener Demokratieschwäche, kann sich Putin weiterhin am Leben und zudem versuchen, immer größere Stückchen vom europäischen Kuchen zu erhalten.

Angela Stent beendet ihren Artikel wie folgt: „The current crisis is ultimately about Russia redrawing the post–Cold War map and seeking to reassert its influence over half of Europe, based on the claim that it is guaranteeing its own security. It may be possible to avert a military conflict this time. But as long as Putin remains in power, so will his doctrine.“

Hier finden Sie den entsprechenden Artikel in Foreign Affairs:

https://www.foreignaffairs.com/articles/ukraine/2022-01-27/putin-doctrine


„It is easy to feel powerless in the face of a problem as big as climate change. But you’re not powerless. And you don’t have to be a politician or a philanthropist to make a difference. You have influence as a citizen, a consumer, and a employee or employer.“

Bill Gates, How to Avoid a Climate Disaster (2021: 218)

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.