Reclining Figure

24.5.02022

Featured Photo: Reclining Figure in Costa Mesa

Beach

For almost forty years I have been leaving my footprints in the sand of one and the same beach; unfortunately I had to wait almost four years to be able to walk from pier to pier again today.

With the best weather today, I had to realize that it's not just me that has changed over the years, the decades have also left their mark on my favorite beach. And even the sea will not be the same anymore, only the endless horizon seems to be the same.

Reclining Figure

Since 1984 there has been - actually - a sculpture Henry Moores in front of the Segerstrom Center for the Arts in Costa Mesa. And since the late 1980s I have admired this work of art on my walks there.

This artwork was donated by the Angels of the Arts and is described as follows:

"Vital and mysterious, like the spirit embodied in Stonehenge, Moore's reclining female forms are universal shapes to which everyone is subconsciously conditioned to respond; simple, massive, deeply human figures are clearly represented in his 'Reclining Figure'."

Travel Costa Mesa, webpage of the Reclining Figure

And since a single sculpture might become a little boring over the decades, the South Coast Plaza has been given a "Arts District Sculpture Tour“ is added, so that the walks there can always come up with new surprises.

game night

When a long day ends with games, then you have probably done everything right. Yesterday it was that time again, and the game Rummikub had our full attention. And since everyone wanted to win at least once, the whole thing took a little longer again.

If you don't know Rummikub, you probably know the Rummy card game, a card game in which you play two complete French decks of 52 cards each and several "jokers". needed; these can represent any card of any suit. Rummy comes in different versions.

Ephraim Hertzano, who liked to play rummy himself, developed the game Rummikub back in the 1930s and 1940s. But it wasn't until the 1960s that interest in Rummikub slowly increased, reaching its peak in 1977 in the United States, when it became the best-selling game of the year there. And in 1980 it won Game of the Year.

The only thing that might bother me a bit about the game is that the tile tray has three rows, but the game has four colors.


birthday of the day

Bob Dylan

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Reclining Figure

24.5.02022

Beitragsfoto: Reclining Figure in Costa Mesa

Strand

Seit fast vierzig Jahren ziehe ich immer wieder meine Spuren im Sand des ein und desselben Strandes; leider musste ich allerdings fast vier Jahre darauf warten, um heute wieder einmal von Pier zu Pier spazieren zu können.

Was heute bei bestem Wetter dazu führte, dass ich erkennen musste, dass nicht nur ich mich über die Jahre hinweg verändert habe, auch an meinem Lieblingsstrand sind die Jahrzehnte nicht spurlos vorbeigezogen. Und selbst das Meer wird nicht mehr das alte, einzig der endlose Horizont scheint noch derselbe zu sein.

Reclining Figure

Seit 1984 steht — liegt eigentlich — eine Skulptur Henry Moores vor dem Segerstrom Center for the Arts in Costa Mesa. Und seit Ende der 1980er Jahre bewundere ich dieses Kunstwerk bei meinen dortigen Spaziergängen.

Dieses Kunstwerk wurde von den Angels of the Arts gespendet und wird wie folgt beschrieben:

„Vital and mysterious, like the spirit embodied in Stonehenge, Moore’s reclining female forms are universal shapes to which everyone is subconsciously conditioned to respond; simple, massive, deeply human figures are clearly represented in his ‚Reclining Figure‘.“

Travel Costa Mesa, webpage der Reclining Figure

Und da eine einzige Skulptur über die Jahrzehnte hinweg vielleicht doch etwas langweilig werden könnte, wurde die South Coast Plaza durch eine „Arts District Sculpture Tour“ ergänzt, so dass die dortigen Spaziergänge immer wieder mit neuen Überraschungen aufwarten können.

Spieleabend

Wenn ein langer Tag mit Spielen ausklingt, dann hat man wohl alles richtig gemacht. Gestern war es mal wieder soweit, und das Spiel Rummikub hatte unsere gesamte Aufmerksamkeit. Und da auch jeder mindestens einmal gewinnen wollte, dauerte das Ganze wieder etwas länger.

Wer Rummikub nicht kennt, der kennt bestimmt noch das Kartenspiel Rommé, ein Ablegespiel, wobei man zwei vollständige französische Kartenspiele zu je 52 Blatt und mehrere „Joker”. benötigt; diese können jede Karte jeder Farbe vertreten. Rommé gibt es in verschiedenen Versionen.

Ephraim Hertzano, der selber gerne Rommé spielte, entwickelte das Spiel Rummikub bereits in den 1930er und 1940er Jahren. Aber erst in den 1960er Jahren stieg das Interesse an Rummikub so langsam an und erreichte 1977 in den USA seinen vorläufigen Höhepunkt, als es dort zum meist verkauften Spiel des Jahres wurde. Und 1980 wurde es als Spiel des Jahres ausgezeichnet.

Das Einzige, was mich vielleicht etwas am Spiel stört ist, dass die Spielsteinablage dreireihig ist, das Spiel aber vier Farben besitzt.


Geburtstag des Tages

Bob Dylan

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.