hypothesis

Post photo: Network | © Pixabay

If you rummage through weblogs, you will always find things that you didn't know yourself, but which could be very interesting for you. And that's how I got through the other day Chris Aldrich on an open software initiative by hypothesis which has set itself the goal of better networking the Internet with each other.

"Hypothesis is a new effort to implement an old idea: A conversation layer over the entire web that works everywhere, without needing implementation by any underlying site."

Hypothesis site (3.9.2022)

The idea behind this initiative is very simple. You install a corresponding extension in your browser (it worked for me right away with Chrome and Safari) and also register on the Hypothesis website. With that everything is done and you will then find the necessary functions on the right side of the screen to highlight text in yellow like with a highlighter or to be able to add comments to it. It is possible to make these comments public, to share them in self-chosen groups or to use them for yourself.

Now I'm curious to see whether this gadget can be integrated into my existing work environment and whether I can find other users with whom I can then work together using this tool. I'll try to put Hypothesis in front of my own Zettelkasten and then later, if it makes sense for me to add it, to it Detlef Stern to ask whether and how the two could best be combined.


Addendum (5.9.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX)

Detlef Stern got me on the post linked here Chris Shaffer made aware. Now I'm curious to see if Hypothesis will also be integrated into my weblog.

Addendum (11.9.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX)

With a little help from Detlef Stern I can at least embed individual pages and posts - which is not really what the inventor intended.

Addendum (24.1.2023/XNUMX/XNUMX)

Although I was still able to embed Hypothesis throughout the weblog in September 2022, that didn't stop me from turning it off again today. The reason for this was that it was probably only used by me on my blog — and only for gaming.

Hypothesis

Beitragsfoto: Netzwerk | © Pixabay

Wenn man in Weblogs stöbert, dann findet man auch immer wieder Dinge, die man selber noch nicht kannte, welche aber durchaus für einen sehr interessant sein könnten. Und so bin ich neulich durch Chris Aldrich auf eine open software-Initiative von Hypothesis gestoßen, welche sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, das Internet besser untereinander zu vernetzen.

„Hypothesis is a new effort to implement an old idea: A conversation layer over the entire web that works everywhere, without needing implementation by any underlying site.“

Hypothesis Website (3.9.2022)

Die Idee hinter dieser Initiative ist sehr einfach. Man installiert in seinem Browser eine entsprechende Erweiterung (hat bei mir sowohl mit Chrome als auch Safari gleich auf Anhieb funktioniert) und registriert sich zusätzlich noch auf der Hypothesis Website. Damit ist alles erledigt und man findet danach auf der rechten Bildschirmseite die notwendigen Funktionen, um Text wie mit einem Textmarker gelb hervorzuheben oder diesen auch mit Anmerkungen versehen zu können. Hierbei besteht die Möglichkeit, um diese Anmerkungen öffentlich zu tätigen, in selbstgewählten Gruppen zu teilen oder für sich selbst zu verwenden.

Jetzt bin ich einmal gespannt darauf, ob sich dieses Gadget in mein bestehendes Arbeitsumfeld integrieren lässt und ob ich weitere Nutzer finde, mit denen ich dann über dieses Tool zusammenarbeiten kann. Ich versuche einmal Hypothesis meinem eigenen Zettelkasten vorzuschalten und später dann, wenn es für mich eine sinnvolle Ergänzung ist, bei Detlef Stern nachzufragen, ob und wie man beides am besten miteinander kombinieren könnte.


Nachtrag (5.9.2022)

Detlef Stern hat mich auf den hier verlinkten Beitrag von Kris Shaffer aufmerksam gemacht. Jetzt bin ich einmal gespannt darauf, ob ich Hypothesis auch in mein Weblog integriert bekomme.

Nachtrag (11.9.2022)

Mit etwas Nachhilfe von Detlef Stern kann ich zumindest einzelne Seiten und Beiträge einbinden — was aber nicht wirklich im Sinne des Erfinders ist.

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert