Irvine

Post photo: Irvine seen from a captive balloon | © Shutterstock

Irvine is said to be the safest city in the USA, which was planned and developed by the Irvine Company in the 1960s and now has more than 300 inhabitants. Particularly noteworthy are its universities and the reservoir, which is great for walking around.

received in 1971 Irvine the charter, and my aunt moved there from San Francisco in 1974. Irvine is about 60 miles south of LA and is part of Orange County. The city borders among others Santa Ana, Costa Mesa and Newport Beach.

In Irvine, the universities, the many city parks and the various churches are not to be missed. There are also three larger city libraries and other university libraries, most of which are open to the public. Since the Asians are now likely to make up the largest part of the population in Irvine, it is not surprising that Chinese literature can no longer be overlooked in the libraries.

Irvine is also special in the field of sports, as Irvine can be considered the US center for water polo.

Traditionally, automobiles and city buses dictate traffic, but like Santa Ana, Irvine is well-connected to San Diego and Los Angeles by rail. And since the 1990s, Irvine has also had a good network of cycle paths with around 500 kilometers of cycle paths and an additional almost 100 kilometers of cross routes.


You can support this weblog on Patreon!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Irvine

Beitragsfoto: Irvine von einem Fesselballon aus gesehen | © Shutterstock

Angeblich ist Irvine die sicherste Stadt in den USA, welche in den 1960er-Jahren von der Irvine Company geplant und entwickelt wurde und inzwischen mehr als 300 000 Einwohner zählt. Besonders zu erwähnen sind ihre Universitäten und der Stausee, um den es sich gut spazieren gehen lässt.

1971 erhielt Irvine das Stadtrecht, und meine Tante zog bereits 1974 aus San Franzisko dorthin. Irvine liegt ca. 60 Kilometer südlich von LA und ist Teil des Orange County. Die Stadt grenzt u.a. an Santa Ana, Costa Mesa und Newport Beach.

In Irvine sind die Universitäten, die vielen Stadtparks und die verschiedenen Kirchen nicht zu übersehen. Hinzu kommen noch drei größere städtische Bibliotheken und weitere Universitätsbibliotheken, von denen die meisten University of California Libraries öffentlich zugänglich sind. Da inzwischen die Asiaten den größten Bevölkerungsanteil in Irvine stellen dürften, ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass die chinesische Literatur in den Bibliotheken nicht mehr zu übersehen ist.

Auch im Bereich des Sports ist Irvine besonders, da Irvine als das US-Zentrum für Wasserball angesehen werden kann.

Traditionell bestimmen das Auto und die Stadtbusse den Verkehr, aber Irvine ist wie Santa Ana auch, gut mit der Bahn an San Diego und Los Angeles angebunden. Und seit den 1990er-Jahren hat Irvine zusätzlich ein gutes Radwegenetz mit inzwischen ca. 500 Kilometern an Radwegen und zusätzlich fast 100 Kilometer an Cross-Strecken.


Sie können dieses Weblog auf Patreon unterstützen!

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.