MacBook Pro

Post photo: Three MacBook Pro

It's been a while since I bought my first laptop. I decided to do this after the Bundeswehr said they had to equip us with armored notebooks. And so I bought my first laptop and was not only completely surprised by its speed, but also absolutely delighted by its hard drive with a capacity of 600 MB. In times when people still liked to work with 1,4 MB diskettes, an unbelievably good price-performance ratio.

Unfortunately, I then found out that the laptops I bought didn't survive maneuvers well, let alone the missions. And so it was common for me to buy a new laptop after a job at the latest and simply throw away the previous one.

When I went abroad again and my comrades let me know that it would also be very dusty this time, I knew that there was no point with the previous laptops, especially since I don't have to provide a replacement during the assignment could. And so I treated myself to my first MacBook Pro in the run-up to the assignment. And my investment was already fully worth it on the first regular day of work, because my comrades had to make do with French computers that were equipped with a Spanish software version in order to work with them in English, French or German.

As a German infantryman, I was used to providing my own tools and other equipment privately. And so my international comrades, who were used to getting everything they needed from their employers, were at a disadvantage in this European procurement spree. And those scoffers who said you couldn't integrate a Mac system into a military network didn't know any Spanish administrators — this challenge was mastered within one night.

Unlike my previous laptops, my first MacBook Pro performed quite well and even after almost a year of use, it came back with me from use like new. For the first few years, my wife complained about the red sand that kept appearing - but it was all just a matter of getting used to it. Only recently did I have to shut it down — after my better half only used it as a backup computer — because its performance data was simply no longer sufficient for normal everyday use.

I am currently writing this text on one of its successors, a MacBook Pro (16″, 2021), although I continue to use its two predecessors, a MacBook Pro (15″, 2016) and a MacBook Pro (Retina 13″, late 2013) every day have use.

To cut a long story short, if I had to recommend a laptop to anyone, I'd have no hesitation in recommending a MacBook Pro to anyone. And if you think that these are too expensive, you can easily fall back on a slightly older copy and certainly also on a used one.

If I had anything to complain about on my MacBook Pros over the years, it would only be the keyboard on the 15-inch MacBook, which briefly weakened a bit, but was completely restored with a software update.

The only thing that really bothers me about my MacBooks over the years is that I threw away my first MacBook Pro far too early — I would have found a use for it for sure.


"There's a lesson in that, too. What do such machines really do? They increase the number of things we can do without thinking. Things we do without thinking — there's the real danger."

frankherbert, God Emperor of Dune (2019: 479)
You can support this weblog on Patreon!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Drei MacBook Pro

MacBook Pro

Beitragsfoto: Drei MacBook Pro

Der Kauf meines ersten Laptops ist schon eine ganz Weile her. Ich hatte mich dazu entschlossen, nachdem die Bundeswehr meinte, uns mit gepanzerten Notebooks ausstatten zu müssen. Und so legte ich mir meinen ersten Laptop zu und war von dessen Schnelligkeit nicht nur völlig überrascht, sondern vor allem von dessen Festplatte mit ganzen 600 MB Kapazität absolut begeistert. In Zeiten, wo man gerne noch mit 1,4 MB Disketten hantierte, ein unglaublich gutes Preis- Leistungsverhältnis.

Leider musste ich dann feststellen, dass meine gekauften Laptops weder Manöver gut überstanden, von den Einsätzen ganz zu schweigen. Und so war es üblich, dass ich mir spätestens nach einem Einsatz auch einen neuen Laptop zulegte und der Vorgänger dabei einfach entsorgt wurde.

Als es dann wieder einmal ins Ausland ging und meine Kameraden mich wissen ließen, dass es dieses Mal auch sehr staubig werden würde, wusste ich, dass es mit den bisherigen Laptops keinen Zweck hatte, vor allem, weil ich während des Einsatzes für keinen Ersatz sorgen konnte. Und so gönnte ich mir im Vorfeld des Einsatzes mein erstes MacBook Pro. Und schon am ersten regulären Arbeitstag im Einsatz hatte sich meine Investition voll und ganz gelohnt, denn meine Kameraden mussten sich mit französischen Rechnern begnügen, die mit einer spanischen Software-Version ausgestattet waren, um damit auf Englisch, Französisch oder Deutsch zu arbeiten.

Als deutscher Infanterist war ich es gewohnt, für eigene Arbeitsmittel und auch weitere Ausrüstung privat zu sorgen. Und so hatten meine internationalen Kameraden, die es gewohnt waren, alles Notwendige von ihren Dienstherren gestellt zu bekommen, bei dieser europäischen Beschaffungsorgie einmal das Nachsehen. Und jene Spötter die meinten, man könne ein Mac-System nicht in ein Militärnetzwerk integrieren, die kannten noch keine spanischen Administratoren — innerhalb einer Nacht war diese Herausforderung gemeistert.

Im Gegensatz zu meinen vorherigen Laptops machte sich mein erstes MacBook Pro ganz gut und selbst nach fast einem Jahr im Einsatz, kam es wie neu mit mir wieder aus dem Einsatz zurück. Die ersten Jahre beklagte sich meine Frau noch wegen des roten Sandes, der immer wieder einmal zum Vorschein kam — aber alles nur Gewöhnungssache. Erst vor Kurzem musste ich es — nachdem meine bessere Hälfte es nur noch als Ersatzrechner gebrauchte — stilllegen, weil seine Leistungsdaten einfach nicht mehr für den normalen Alltagsgebrauch ausreichten.

Diesen Text schreibe ich gerade auf einem seiner Nachfolger, einem MacBook Pro (16″, 2021), wobei ich dessen beiden Vorgänger, ein MacBook Pro (15 Zoll, 2016) und ein MacBook Pro (Retina 13″, Ende 2013) weiterhin täglich im Gebrauch habe.

Um das Ganze abzukürzen, wenn ich jemanden einen Laptop empfehlen müsste, dann kann ich ohne Wenn und Aber jedem ein MacBook Pro empfehlen. Und wer meint, dass diese zu teuer seien, der kann ohne Probleme auf ein etwas älteres Exemplar zurückgreifen und sicherlich auch auf ein gebrauchtes.

Wenn ich an meinen MacBook Pros in all den Jahren etwas zu bemängeln hätte, dann nur die Tastatur beim 15 Zoll MacBook, die kurz einmal etwas schwächelte, aber bereits mit einem Software-Update wieder voll und ganz hergestellt wurde.

Das Einzige was mich an meinen MacBooks über all die Jahre hinweg tatsächlich stört ist, dass ich mein erstes MacBook Pro viel zu früh entsorgte — ich hätte dafür sicherlich noch eine Verwendung gefunden.


„There’s a lesson in that, too. What do such machines really do? They increase the number of things we can do without thinking. Things we do without thinking — there’s the real danger.“

Frank Herbert, God Emperor of Dune (2019: 479)

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.