Order & cleanliness

Post photo: old dustbins and brooms | © Pixabay

Especially when you come back to Heilbronn from other countries or cities, you unfortunately have to notice time and again, and recently even more so, that we have a cleanliness problem in our city and its immediate vicinity.

There is scarcely a place or place, apart perhaps this year from the Federal Horticultural Show grounds, where one will not come across discarded or illegally dumped rubbish, despite the tireless efforts of our municipal employees and municipal waste disposal contractors.

On the one hand, it is certainly an educational problem, whereby far too many fellow citizens have neither received an appropriate education from home nor have they developed the awareness that a clean environment is not only beautiful to look at, but also healthy for mind and body.

On the other hand, however, the municipal council, city administration and we citizens ourselves have handed over responsibility for our city to "everyone" or "everyone else". Individual initiatives by committed citizens to either take on voluntary cleaning services or even to confront the polluters who have been caught come to nothing, since these citizens are hardly supported by the city administration or other fellow citizens.

In addition, our society as a whole has changed in such a way that polluters enjoy the highest possible protection and, in return, responsible fellow citizens who want to put a stop to this activity can not only expect insults and malice, but also occasionally physical threats - and in the case of self-defense little can expect backing from the executive, the judiciary or their fellow citizens.

If you now consider that cigarette butts and plastic waste alone cause serious damage to the environment and health for all of us, you would think that there is an urgent need for action in general!

An African proverb says that it takes a whole village to raise a child. But we have long since handed over this joint responsibility to "the state" and are increasingly preventing "interference" from other sides, even that of our own relatives or friendly neighbors. However, we see that “the state” cannot fulfill this educational task in all places, whether in kindergartens, schools, swimming pools, city buses or on the street.

That's why it only remains for us to strengthen "the state" in such a way that it is enabled to at least ensure order in our city. And this order then ensures appropriate cleanliness.

One possibility would be to strengthen and empower the Heilbronn City Public Order Office in such a way that not only most illegal dumping of rubbish, but also the disposal of cigarette butts, hauntings and peeing in public places is permanently prevented.

Alternatively, one could also commission appropriate companies that finance themselves through the income from the fines and would also get illegal parking under control.


At the doctor's

Doctor to patient's wife: "Your husband's stomach is wrong."

The wife nods understandingly: "You should see his desk first."

You can support this weblog on Patreon!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Gerade wenn man aus anderen Ländern oder Städten zurück nach Heilbronn kommt, muss man leider immer wieder und jüngst noch verstärkt feststellen, dass wir in unserer Stadt und seiner näheren Umgebung ein Sauberkeitsproblem haben.

Es gibt kaum noch einen Ort oder Platz, vielleicht dieses Jahr vom Bundesgartenschaugelände einmal abgesehen, an dem man nicht auf weggeworfenen oder illegal entsorgten Müll stößt, und dies trotz der unermüdlichen Bemühungen unserer städtischen Angestellten und den von der Stadt beauftragten Entsorgungsunternehmen.

Zum einen ist es sicherlich ein Bildungsproblem, wobei viel zu viele Mitbürger weder von zuhause eine entsprechende Erziehung mitbekommen noch das Bewusstsein entwickelt haben, dass eine saubere Umwelt nicht nur schön anzusehen, sondern auch noch gesund für Geist und Körper ist.

Zum anderen aber haben Gemeinderat, Stadtverwaltung und wir Bürger selbst die Verantwortung für unsere Stadt an „Jedermann“ oder „Alle anderen“ abgegeben. Vereinzelte Initiativen von engagierten Bürgern entweder freiwillige Reinigungsdienste zu übernehmen oder gar ertappte Verursacher zur Rede zu stellen, verlaufen im Sande, da diese Bürger kaum von städtischer Verwaltung oder anderen Mitbürgern unterstützt werden.

Zudem hat sich unsere Gesellschaft insgesamt dahingehend gewandelt, dass die Umweltverschmutzer höchstmöglichen Schutz genießen und im Gegenzug verantwortungsbewusste Mitbürger, die diesem Treiben Einhalt gebieten möchten, nicht nur mit Beleidigungen und Häme zu rechnen, sondern vereinzelt auch körperlich bedroht werden – und im Falle von Notwehr wenig Rückendeckung von Exekutive, Justiz oder ihren Mitbürgern zu erwarten haben.

Wenn man jetzt noch bedenkt, dass zum Beispiel alleine Zigarettenkippen und Plastikabfälle schwere Umwelt- und Gesundheitsschäden für uns alle nach sich ziehen, sollte man doch meinen, dass allgemein dringender Handlungsbedarf gesehen wird!

Ein afrikanisches Sprichwort sagt zwar, dass es eines ganzen Dorfes bedarf, um ein Kind zu erziehen. Wir aber haben bei uns diese gemeinschaftliche Verantwortung längst an „den Staat“ abgegeben und unterbinden dabei zudem immer mehr die „Einmischung“ von anderer Seite, selbst die der eigenen Verwandtschaft oder befreundeter Nachbarn. Dass aber „der Staat“ diese Erziehungsaufgabe nicht erfüllen kann, sehen wir an allen Orten, ob im Kindergarten, der Schule, den Schwimmbädern, den Stadtbussen oder auf der Straße.

Deswegen bleibt es uns wohl nur übrig, „den Staat“ dahingehend zu stärken, dass er befähigt wird, zumindest die Ordnung in unsere Stadt sicherzustellen. Und diese Ordnung sorgt dann für entsprechende Sauberkeit.

Eine Möglichkeit wäre, das Ordnungsamt der Stadt Heilbronn personell so zu verstärken und zu befähigen, dass nicht nur die meisten illegalen Müllablagerungen, sondern auch das Wegwerfen von Zigarettenkippen, Spuken und Pinkeln auf öffentlichen Plätzen nachhaltig unterbunden wird.

Alternativ könnte man auch entsprechende Firmen beauftragen, die sich durch die Einnahmen der Strafzahlungen finanzieren und dabei auch noch das Falschparken in Griff bekämen.