Meeting point Europe

Feature photo: Snapshot of a meeting place in Europe

It will soon be that time again in Heilbronn, and a 100 square meter stage and around 16 stands will be set up on Kiliansplatz. This year, the European Meeting Point will take place on the European Union's Europe Day, on Saturday 9 May 2020.

At the end of last year, preparations for what is now the 31st meeting point Europe have started again and the first pegs will then be driven in at the first preparatory meeting on Saturday, January 18, 2020, which will be followed by another meeting, usually in March, before then make all the preparations during the Europe Week noticeable on Kiliansplatz.

The Meeting point Europe is a festival of international understanding, which is organized every year by the EUROPA-UNION Heilbronn and, with the help of its partner associations from the city and district of Heilbronn, offers a motley potpourri of art and music all day long, which also features the best cuisine from all over the world is garnished.

If you are now a little curious, you are welcome to find a few amateur recordings of the last meeting places on YouTube; I have a corresponding "playlist“ created.

The very special thing about the meeting point Europe is that the entire festival is managed exclusively by volunteers from Heilbronn, who prepare for this day for months, spend days setting up and dismantling and then at the meeting point itself, from morning until night standing in the kitchen, stocking the stands, looking after the stand duty or taking part in the colorful program on the stage.

A Meeting Point Europe can offer up to 12 hours of non-stop programming, while up to 20 stalls offer the best delicacies far and wide for all visitors.

None of this would be possible without the hundreds of volunteers, cooks and artists who do this every year to show their fellow citizens that on the one hand we can achieve more together than alone and on the other hand that peaceful coexistence is the best way of life for us people is.

Of course one is needed Fest, which counts a good 20 enthusiastic visitors every year, with other helpers and supporters in the background. This help comes from the partner companies of EUROPA-UNION Heilbronn, as well as from the city of Heilbronn itself, which supports the festival financially and actively with employees of the works office.

For over 30 years, the festival has gone on in harmony and in high spirits, even if it rains cats and dogs all day long.

If you have never had the opportunity to drop by the Meeting Point Europe, please put May 9, 2020 in your calendar now.


"Our country is the world, our countrymen are all mankind. We love the land of our nativity only as we love all other lands." 

William Lloyd Garrison, Declaration of Sentiments adopted by the Peace Convention (Boston, September 18-20, 1838)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

Kategorien
Europa Heilbronn

Treffpunkt Europa

Bereits zum 31. Mal auf dem Kiliansplatz in Heilbronn.

Bald ist es in Heilbronn wieder soweit, und auf dem Kiliansplatz werden eine 100 Quadratmeter große Bühne sowie darum herum gut 16 Stände aufgestellt. Dieses Jahr findet der Treffpunkt Europa genau am Europatag der Europäischen Union statt und zwar am Samstag, 9. Mai 2020.

Bereits Ende des letzten Jahres haben erneut die Vorbereitungen für den inzwischen 31. Treffpunkt Europa begonnen und die ersten Pflöcke werden dann bei der ersten vorbereitenden Sitzung am Samstag, 18. Januar 2020 eingeschlagen, die von einer weiteren Sitzung meistens im März gefolgt wird, bevor sich dann alle Vorbereitungen in der Europawoche auf dem Kiliansplatz bemerkbar machen.

Der Treffpunkt Europa ist ein Fest der Völkerverständigung, welches alljährlich von der EUROPA-UNION Heilbronn organisiert wird, und mit Hilfe ihrer Partnervereine aus dem Stadt- und Landkreis Heilbronn ganztägig ein kunterbuntes Potpourri an Kunst und Musik bietet, welches zudem noch durch die beste Küche aus allen Herren Ländern garniert wird.

Wer jetzt ein wenig neugierig geworden ist, der kann gerne auf Youtube ein paar Amateuraufnahmen der letzten Treffpunkte finden; ich habe dazu eine entsprechende „Playlist“ angelegt.

Das ganz Besondere am Treffpunkt Europa ist, dass das gesamte Fest ausschließlich von ehrenamtlichen Heilbronnern gestemmt wird, die sich monatelang auf diesen Tag vorbereiten, tagelang mit dem Auf- und Abbau beschäftigt sind und dann noch am Treffpunkt selbst, von morgens bis in die Nacht hinein in der Küche stehen, die Stände bestücken, den Standdienst sicherstellen oder aber das kunterbunte Programm auf der Bühne bestreiten.

Ein Treffpunkt Europa kann bis zu 12 Stunden Programm und dies ohne Unterbrechung bieten, während an bis zu 20 Ständen für alle Besucher die besten Leckereien weit und breit angeboten werden.

Dies alles wäre ohne Hunderte von ehrenamtlichen Helfern, Köchen und Künstlern nicht machbar, die diese Leistung jedes Jahr aufs Neue erbringen, um ihren Mitbürgern zu zeigen, dass man zum einen zusammen mehr erreicht als alleine und zum anderen das friedliche Miteinander die beste Lebensweise für uns Menschen ist.

Selbstverständlich benötigt ein Fest, das jedes Jahr gut 20 000 begeisterte Besucher zählt, weitere Helfer und Unterstützer im Hintergrund. Diese Hilfe kommt von den Partnerfirmen der EUROPA-UNION Heilbronn, sowie von der Stadt Heilbronn selbst, die das Fest finanziell und auch tatkräftig mit Mitarbeitern des Betriebsamtes unterstützt.

Seit über 30 Jahren verläuft das Fest in Harmonie und bei bester Stimmung, und dies selbst dann, wenn es den gesamten Tag über in Strömen regnet.

Sollten Sie noch nie Gelegenheit gefunden haben, um einmal beim Treffpunkt Europa vorbeizuschauen, dann tragen Sie sich bitte den 9. Mai 2020 einfach schon jetzt in Ihren Kalender ein.

„Our country is the world, our countrymen are all mankind. We love the land of our nativity only as we love all other lands.“ 

William Lloyd Garrison, Declaration of Sentiments adopted by the Peace Convention (Boston, 18.-20. September 1838)
Beitrag 19-mal geteilt!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.