Stamp with Gaetano Donizzetti and his opera Lucia di Lammermoor

22.5.02022

Feature photo: Stamp Lucia di Lammermoor | © Shutterstock

Weblog

Some readers may have already noticed that I have changed the layout again. Most readers come to my site via email or RSS, so I've streamlined the start page a bit.

I also have — and I'm sure I like that Detlef Stern — removed many little helpers in the backend. This makes the whole thing easier and less time consuming. And should I not find a new tool or gadget that once again piques my curiosity, then my readers have no choice but to settle for this layout.

Of course, you can also send me criticism or suggestions, and if you want, you can also discuss this in the forum.

Lucia di Lammermoor

Yesterday my aunt surprised me with a ticket to a performance ofThe Met: Live in HD". Gaetano Donizettis Lucia has long been one of the standards of every opera, so this time I was more than amazed at what the Metropolitan Opera made of this piece.

Donizetti's music can be heard over and over again, but after all these years, both the story and Lucia's "mad scene" — maybe from the Maria Callas Aside from the performance — nothing to knock my socks off. But far from it! What the Met ensemble has done with the now somewhat antiquated opera is simply admirable.

Nadine Sierra excelled as Lucia and Artur Rucinski managed to bring an enchanting villain to the stage. The voice of Javier Camarena as Edgardo was excellent, and the one who stepped in at very short notice Christian VanHorn showed what professionals can (must) do.

But all of that would definitely just be another one Lucia di Lammermoor been if not Simon Stone would have made something completely new out of this old story, namely not only transferred the opera to the present day, but then also performed it exactly as operas should actually be performed today.

And all this viewed from comfortable seats and provided with a good translation of the songs, without ifs and buts a very successful thing!

Walks

On my rounds through well-known districts and many new development areas, I can see that functioning city administrations are a blessing for every community. In California in particular, wealth and poverty very often meet and some streets separate worlds in the truest sense of the word.

It is very gratifying that even the poorest areas are orderly and, above all, clean. It is recognized, at least in Orange County, that law and order are the foundations of any urban development. There is no question that there are also many homeless people here, but they hardly attract any negative attention and neither beg nor bother pedestrians.

And in the meantime, California has also discovered waste separation for itself, whereby the many different containers for recyclables that can now be found in front of every house or the many new apartment complexes awaken a feeling of home in me.

Only the fact that the climate here is a lot warmer shows that a recycling system that could work here in Central Europe without any problems still needs some adjustments here. However, I am very confident that this will be brought under control very quickly.

And so I continue to enjoy the clean streets and the many private improvements to the houses and gardens that go with them on my walks.

What I like best, however, is the well-established system of street cleaning, with each street having a sign telling you when the road sweeper is coming and you have to remove your cars beforehand. And if a neighbor thinks they don't have to comply, the police and a tow truck will be there immediately.


poem of the day

My poem for the day comes from Phillip Larkin and was already written by him in February 1960. It was first published in his 1964 book of poetry, The Whitsun Weddings.

As Bad as a Mile

Watching the shield core
Striking the basket, skidding across the floor,
Shows less and less of luck, and more and more

Of failure spreading back up the arm
Earlier and earlier, the unraised hand calm,
The apple unbidden in the palm.

Phillip Larkin, February 1960

birthdays of the day

Arthur Conan Doyle and Kathe Gries

2 thoughts on "22.5.02022"

  1. Hi! The new layout is hard to get used to: I am greeted with huge cliparts (Bis repetita non placent), which are not even fully clickable and have nothing to do with the content of the texts:
    xxx
    Fortunately, you can also choose the previous view:
    xxx
    [the links are no longer available]

    1. You shouldn't be able to say that I'm completely resistant to advice, and so I've "de-imaged" the blog a bit again. It made me happy that there is a reader who not only accesses my weblog via the start page, but also "grieves" when I suddenly throw out the tried and tested.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

22.5.02022

Beitragsfoto: Briefmarke Lucia di Lammermoor | © Shutterstock

Weblog

Manchem Leser dürfte es bereits aufgefallen sein, dass ich das Layout wieder einmal verändert habe. Die meisten Leser kommen via E-Mail oder RSS auf meine Seiten, und so habe ich die Startseite wieder etwas entschlackt.

Zudem habe ich — und dies gefällt bestimmt Detlef Stern — im Backend viele kleine Helferlein entfernt. Dies macht das Ganze einfacher und weniger zeitaufwendig. Und sollte ich kein neues Tool oder Gadget finden, das wieder einmal meine Neugierde weckt, dann bleibt meinen Lesern nichts anderes übrig, als sich mit diesem Layout abzufinden.

Selbstverständlich kann man mir aber auch entsprechende Kritik oder Vorschläge zusenden, und wer möchte, dies gerne auch im Forum thematisieren.

Lucia di Lammermoor

Gestern überraschte mich meine Tante mit einem Ticket für eine Aufführung von „The Met: Live in HD“. Gaetano Donizettis Lucia gehört schon etwas länger zu den Standards wohl jeder Oper, und so war ich dieses Mal mehr als erstaunt, was die Metropolitan Opera aus diesem Stück gemacht hat.

Donizettis Musik kann man zwar immer wieder hören aber nach all den Jahren sind sowohl die Geschichte als auch Lucias „Wahnsinnsszene“ — vielleicht von der Maria Callas Aufführung einmal abgesehen — nichts, was mich vom Hocker reißen könnte. Aber weit gefehlt! Was das Ensemble der Met aus der doch inzwischen etwas angestaubten Oper gemacht hat, ist einfach bewundernswert.

Nadine Sierra brillierte als Lucia und Artur Ruciński schaffte es, einen bezaubernden Bösewicht auf die Bühne zu bringen. Die Stimme von Javier Camarena als Edgardo war hervorragend, und der sehr kurzfristig eingesprungene Christian Van Horn zeigte, was Profis so alles können (müssen).

Aber all das wäre bestimmt wieder nur eine weitere Lucia di Lammermoor gewesen, wenn nicht Simon Stone aus dieser alten Geschichte etwas ganz Neues gemacht hätte, nämlich die Oper nicht nur in die heutige Zeit transferiert sondern diese dann auch genau so aufführte, wie man Opern heute eigentlich aufführen sollte.

Und das alles noch aus bequemen Sitzen heraus betrachtet und mit einer guten Übersetzung der Lieder versehen, ohne Wenn und Aber eine sehr gelungene Sache!

Spaziergänge

Auf meinen Runden durch altbekannte Stadtviertel und sehr viele Neubaugebiete kann ich feststellen, dass funktionierende Stadtverwaltungen ein Segen für jede Gemeinschaft sind. Gerade in Kalifornien treffen Reichtum und Armut sehr oft aufeinander und manche Straßenzüge trennen im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes Welten.

Sehr erfreulich ist dabei, dass selbst die ärmsten Gegenden ordentlich und vor allem sauber sind. Man hat zumindest im Orange County erkannt, dass Ruhe und Ordnung die Grundlagen für jeden städtische Entwicklung sind. Ohne Frage gibt es auch hier sehr viele Obdachlose, die allerdings kaum negativ auffallen und weder betteln noch einen Fußgänger belästigen.

Und inzwischen hat Kalifornien für sich auch die Mülltrennung entdeckt, wobei die vielen unterschiedlichen Wertstoffbehältnisse, die nun vor jedem Haus oder den vielen neuen Appartement-Komplexen zu finden sind, in mir heimatliche Gefühle wecken.

Einzig die Tatsache, dass das Klima hier um einiges wärmer ist zeigt, dass ein Recyling-System, das bei uns in Mitteleuropa ohne Probleme funktionieren könnte, hier doch noch etwas Nachsteuerungsbedarf hat. Ich bin aber sehr zuversichtlich, dass man dies sehr schnell in den Griff bekommen wird.

Und so genieße ich weiterhin auf meinen Spaziergängen die sauberen Straßen und die vielen damit einhergehenden privaten Verbesserungen an den Häusern und Gärten.

Am besten gefällt mir allerdings das hier altbewährte System der Straßenreinigung, wobei jede Straße mit einem Schild versehen ist, wann die Kehrmaschine vorbeikommt und man seine Autos zuvor zu entfernen hat. Und sollte ein Nachbar einmal meinen, sich nicht daran halten zu müssen, ist auch sofort die Polizei und ein Abschleppwagen zur Stelle.


Gedicht des Tages

Mein Gedicht zum Tage stammt von Philip Larkin und wurde von ihm bereits im Februar 1960 geschrieben. Veröffentlicht wurde es erstmals 1964 in seinem Gedichtband „The Whitsun Weddings“.

As Bad as a Mile

Watching the shied core
Striking the basket, skidding across the floor,
Shows less and less of luck, and more and more

Of failure spreading back up the arm
Earlier and earlier, the unraised hand calm,
The apple unbitten in the palm.

Philip Larkin, Februar 1960

Geburtstage des Tages

Arthur Conan Doyle und Käthe Gries

2 thoughts on “22.5.02022

  1. Hallo! Das neue Layout ist zum Abgewöhnen: Ich werde mit riesigen Cliparts (Bis repetita non placent) begrüßt, die nicht mal komplett klickbar sind und nichts mit den Inhalten der Texte zu tun haben:
    xxx
    Glücklicherweise kann man die bisherige Ansicht auch wählen:
    xxx
    [die Links sind nicht mehr verfügbar]

    1. Man soll nicht sagen können, dass ich völlig beratungsresistent wäre, und so habe ich das Blog doch wieder etwas „entbildert“. Gefreut hat es mich dabei, dass es doch einen Leser gibt, der nicht nur über die Startseite auf mein Weblog zugreift, sondern auch „meckert“, wenn ich Altbewährtes plötzlich über den Haufen werfe.

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert