Joe Pass

Joe Pass - Catch Me!

Feature photo: Joe Pass, album cover clipping

My enthusiasm for jazz began in 1980 when an American soldier, with whom I played basketball twice a week near Europaplatz, gave me an LP with the complete "Catch me!" sessions as a farewell gift.

So I held my first jazz record in my hands and was therefore more than susceptible to this particular type of jazz right from the start. Joe Pass recorded his debut album Catch Me in 1963 and immediately became an integral part of the jazz world. His duets with the singer are still to this day Ella Fitzgerald without comparison and his four virtuoso recordings a "must have" for every jazz lover.

In 1980, Blue Notes launched the Catch Me! Sessions from 1963 reissued.

Immediately afterwards I add a recording from 1975, which was recorded in Hanover at the time. So you can get an idea of ​​this musical dream couple Fitzgerald & Pass.

Joe Pass was born on January 13, 1929 in New Brunswick (Neubraunschweig), a small town in New Jersey; a few years before the actor Michael Douglaswho is also from there. Pass began his career as a guitar player in 1943 at the age of 14, but then spent most of the 1950s as a drug addict in various American prisons and hospitals.

In 1961 he went to Synanon House, a then controversial rehab in Santa Monica, California, to start out as a jazz guitarist in 1962. With the Catch Me! In 1963 the time had finally come for Sessions and the world of music could no longer be imagined without Pass. Everything else is jazz history.


"I'm just a guitar player, man, and I got myself screwed up, and now I'm halfway straightened out and I've got to get out and learn something... I want to get my feet wet with some really good jazz musicians. This I've never really done. I've never been a jazz musician."

Joe Pass before recording the Catch Me! session 1963

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Kategorien
Allgemein

Joe Pass – Catch Me!

Was wäre unsere Welt ohne den Jazz?!

Meine Begeisterung für den Jazz begann damit, dass mir ein amerikanischer Soldat, mit dem ich gut ein Jahr zusammen in der Nähe des Europaplatzes zweimal in der Woche Basketball spielte, 1980 zum Abschied eine Langspielplatte mit den vollständigen „Catch me!“ Sessions schenkte.

Damit hielt ich meine erste Jazz-Platte in den Händen und war somit von Anfang an auch für diese bestimmte Art von Jazz mehr als anfällig. Joe Pass spielte bereits 1963 sein Debüt-Album Catch Me ein und war sogleich aus der Jazz-Welt nicht mehr wegzudenken. Noch heute sind seine Duette mit der Sängerin Ella Fitzgerald ohne Vergleich und seine vier Virtuoso Einspielungen ein „Must Have“ für jeden Jazz-Liebhaber.

1980 brachte Blue Notes die Catch Me! Sessions von 1963 neu heraus.

Gleich im Anschluss füge ich noch eine Aufnahme aus dem Jahr 1975 hinzu, die damals in Hannover aufgezeichnet wurde. Damit können Sie sich selbst ein Bild von diesem musikalischen Traumpaar Fitzgerald & Pass machen.

Joe Pass wurde am 13. Januar 1929 in New Brunswick (Neubraunschweig), einer Kleinstadt in New Jersey geboren; ein paar Jahre vor dem Schauspieler Michael Douglas, der auch von dort stammt. Bereits 1943 im Alter von 14 Jahren begann Pass seine Karriere als Gitarrenspieler, verbrachte dann aber den Großteil der 1950 Jahre als Drogenabhängiger in den verschiedensten amerikanischen Gefängnissen und Krankenhäusern.

1961 ging er ins Synanon House, einer damals umstrittenen Entziehungsanstalt in Santa Monica, Kalifornien, um schon 1962 als Jazz-Gitarrist durchzustarten. Mit den zu Anfang erwähnten Catch Me! Sessions war es dann 1963 endlich soweit und Pass nicht mehr aus der Musikwelt wegzudenken. Alles Weitere ist Jazz-Geschichte.

„I’m just a guitar player, man, and I got myself screwed up, and now I’m halfway straightened out and I’ve got to get out and learn something … I want to get my feet wet with some really good jazz musicians. This I’ve never really done. I’ve never been a jazz musician.“

Joe Pass vor der Einspielung der Catch Me! Sessions 1963

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.