Neckar Mile

Post photo: Friedrich-Ebert-Bridge | © MonikaP on Pixabay 

Recently, the 500 meters from the bulwark tower to the idol tower in Heilbronn Neckar Mile chosen, and if you take advantage of the diverse and often excellent offers along the Neckar, it can seem as if it is a mile.

In any case, the lower and upper Neckarstrasse have developed into a well-frequented meeting place in Heilbronn in recent years, a real Neckar promenade that can be highly recommended without further ado, which also the Heilbronn city center overall upgraded and with the Neckar up to the Wertwiesenpark on one or up to the Neckar arch on the other hand harbors further potential for development. If you then add the area around Kaiser-Friedrich-Platz to the main train station or even the Europe Square with its adjacent educational campus includes, then Heilbronn will be able to come up with an offer that can easily keep up with the offers of much larger cities.

The potential is definitely there and promises future generations at least a rosy, cultural, sociable and therefore liveable future in Heilbronn.

Until then, it is important to appreciate what has already been created, but above all to use and maintain it. I have two suggestions for this:

signage and signage

One could easily start signposting things in Heilbronn that actually already exist. In addition to the Sülmer City - these signs even existed before - you can signpost the Neckar mile quite well and thus show all visitors and guests as well as the people of Heilbronn themselves which part of Heilbronn you are in.

It also fits quite well that the Europaplatz in Heilbronn is once again identified as such.

If signposts are now added that show pedestrians and cyclists the way there, a good start would already be made without great effort and expense.

It would be wonderful if the most prominent Heilbronn trees, at least in this area, were also marked.

water feature

Heilbronn in the Neckar has had its own water feature right next to the Neckar stage for a long time. It is very surprising that this is not used. Worse still, it stays off even during the hottest days of the year when it would be beneficial to the health of even the city dwellers and wildlife as a whole.

Two suggestions that were certainly also brought to the city administration by other people from Heilbronn, which could be implemented very easily and without much effort on the part of those responsible.

It should even be possible to switch on the water feature without hiring external experts or advertising agencies. The municipal council and the top management could even combine the whole thing with a trip to Geneva to have the switching on and operation of a water feature explained to them on site.


Water feature in the Neckar
Go then!

On August 7, 2020, the time had come and those responsible were able to bring the water feature back to life in a concerted effort.

When my better half and I came by, we saw a little girl running towards the water feature, clapping and laughing at the same time — a late afternoon on the Neckar can hardly be any better.

The water mist that the city of Heilbronn had installed for the BUGA in Kranenstraße is doing less well. At first I thought that this action was completely unnecessary and also overpriced, slowly got used to it and finally even liked it.

If you walk along Kranenstraße today, you will find exactly this water mist system shut down and garnished with dried plants. A shame both for those responsible and for the so-called BUGA friends who have obviously set new priorities.

I would like to remind those responsible that it is not enough to simply have infrastructure created, but that it must be maintained and, if necessary, renewed. In addition, the hoped-for profit of the BUGA quickly evaporated if you let parts of it rot away afterwards and experienced by everyone — a BUGA obliges, even after 2019.


After the water feature only splashed a little and only now and then until the end of the year, it can no longer be observed in 2021. Only a few waterfowl use the installation to get some rest from overly aggressive city dwellers.

But now I know, and this is always from a very well-informed source, why the Neckar or city fountain no longer has a chance with us. It stands in the way of the wine pavilion, which was completed in 2020, because it brings Neckar water into the wine glasses on site when the wind is unfavorable; which actually does not harm a good wine.

However, the responsible winegrowers seem to have noticed that the Neckar water even improves the wine and are now afraid - because they know us Heilbronners very well - that if this should become public knowledge, the Heilbronners will come by with their own glasses and meet on site and then having fun with Neckar water in the best of moods instead of buying the wine that is served there.


"And I stand on the shore for long days, seeking the land of the Greeks with my soul."

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Iphigenia in Tauris (1787)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

Kategorien
Heilbronn

Neckarmeile

Am Neckar entlang promenieren und flanieren

Jüngst hat man in Heilbronn die gut 500 Meter vom Bollwerksturm bis hin zum Götzenturm zur Neckarmeile erkoren, und wenn man die vielfältigen und oftmals auch exzellenten Angebote entlang des Neckars nutzt, kann es einem schon so vorkommen als ob es eine Meile wäre.

Auf jeden Fall aber haben sich die untere und die obere Neckarstraße in den letzten Jahren zu einem gut frequentierten Heilbronner Treffpunkt, einer echten Neckarpromenade, entwickelt, die man ohne Weiteres sehr empfehlen kann, welche auch die Heilbronner Innenstadt insgesamt aufwertet und mit dem Neckar bis hin zum Wertwiesenpark auf der einen oder bis zum Neckarbogen auf der anderen Seite weiteres Entwicklungspotential in sich birgt. Wenn man dann noch die Gegend um den Kaiser-Friedrich-Platz bis hin zum Hauptbahnhof oder gar den Europaplatz mit seinem angrenzenden Bildungscampus mit einbezieht, dann wird Heilbronn mit einem Angebot aufwarten können, das ohne Probleme auch mit den Angeboten weit größerer Städte mithalten kann.

Die Potentiale sind auf jeden Fall vorhanden und versprechen den kommenden Generationen zumindest eine rosige kulturelle, gesellige und damit lebenswerte Zukunft in Heilbronn.

Bis dahin gilt es das bereits Geschaffene zu schätzen aber vor allem auch zu nutzen und zu unterhalten. Hierzu habe ich gleich zwei Vorschläge:

Beschilderung und Ausschilderung

Man könnte ohne Weiteres damit anfangen, in Heilbronn Dinge auszuschildern, welche es auch bereits tatsächlich gibt. Neben der Sülmer City — diese Schilder gab es sogar schon einmal — kann man ganz gut die Neckarmeile ausschildern und damit allen Besuchern und Gästen sowie auch den Heilbronnern selbst zeigen, in welchem Heilbronner Teilbereich man sich gerade aufhält.

Dazu passt auch ganz gut, dass man den Europaplatz in Heilbronn wieder als solchen kenntlich macht.

Wenn jetzt noch Wegweiser hinzukommen, die dem Fußgänger und gerne auch dem Radfahrer die Wege dorthin zeigen, wäre bereits ohne große Mühen und Kosten ein guter Anfang gemacht.

Wunderbar wäre es, wenn man zudem noch die prominentesten Heilbronner Bäume zumindest in dieser Gegend gleich mit kennzeichnet.

Wasserspiel

Seit Längerem hat Heilbronn im Neckar gleich bei der Neckarbühne ein eigenes Wasserspiel. Sehr verwunderlich ist nur, dass dieses nicht genutzt wird. Schlimmer noch, dass es selbst während der heissesten Tage im Jahr, wo es sogar für die Stadtbevölkerung und auch für die Tierwelt insgesamt gesundheitlich von Vorteil wäre, ausgeschaltet bleibt.

Zwei Vorschläge, die sicherlich auch von weiteren Heilbronnern an die Stadtverwaltung herangetragen wurden, welche sehr leicht und ohne großen Aufwand seitens der Verantwortlichen umgesetzt werden könnten.

Das Einschalten des Wasserspiels sollte dabei sogar ohne die Beauftragung von externen Experten oder Werbeagenturen möglich sein. Der Gemeinderat und die Verwaltungsspitze könnte das Ganze sogar mit einer Reise nach Genf kombinieren, um sich vor Ort das Einschalten und den Betrieb eines Wasserspiels erklären zu lassen.


Wasserspiel im Neckar
Geht doch!

Am 7. August 2020 war es dann soweit, und die Verantwortlichen konnten in einer konzertierten Aktion das Wasserspiel wieder zum Leben erwecken.

Als meine bessere Hälfte und ich vorbeikamen, erlebten wir, wie ein kleines Mädchen, klatschend und lachend zugleich, dem Wasserspiel entgegenlief — schöner kann ein Spätnachmittag am Neckar wohl kaum verlaufen.

Weniger gut geht es dem Wassernebel, den die Stadt Heilbronn für die BUGA in der Kranenstraße installieren ließ. Ich meinte anfangs, dass diese Aktion völlig unnötig und auch überteuert sei, gewöhnte mich langsam und fand zum Schluss sogar Gefallen daran.

Wenn man heute die Kranenstraße entlang läuft, findet man genau diese Wassernebelanlage stillgelegt und mit vertrockneten Pflanzen garniert. Eine Schande sowohl für die Verantwortlichen als auch für die sogenannten BUGA-Freunde, die offensichtlich neue Prioritäten gesetzt haben.

Den Verantwortlichen möchte ich gerne in Erinnerung rufen, dass es nicht ausreicht, Infrastruktur einfach nur erstellen zu lassen, sondern, dass man diese unterhalten und gegebenenfalls auch erneuern muss. Zudem ist der erhoffte Gewinn der BUGA schnell wieder verflogen, wenn man hinterher und für alle erlebbar Teile davon vergammeln lässt — eine BUGA verpflichtet, auch nach 2019.

„Und am Ufer steh‘ ich lange Tage, das Land der Griechen mit der Seele suchend.“

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Iphigenie auf Tauris (1787)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.