Pommier's inferno

Post photo: Valentin Trentin | © Valentin Trentin

I recently had to accept the discontinuation of several weblogs that I read regularly. This may also have something to do with the fact that blogging is a time-consuming endeavor for most of us bloggers. And if you then come to the conclusion that you are writing completely against a wall, you will certainly be less willing to continue expressing yourself in blog form.

And when I then up Valentine Trentins blog and looked at this post "Bulletin No. 207: Quiet in the box“ (March 24, 2022) I was afraid that another weblog would soon disappear. So I was quite happy when I Valentine Trentin informed me that he is currently working hard on his eighth novel in order to be able to publish it soon - so my interest was now more than aroused.

I had "googled" Trentin before, which I found on Wikipedia led, but now wanted to know a little more about him. It can be briefly described as follows:

Valentin Trentin, born in 1948, lives in Brugg (Switzerland) in the Schinznach-Bad district. As a former secondary school teacher, cantonal councilor, training and HR manager, he knows the low levels and everyday worlds of the educational province, politics and business life. The result: Still satire with bite, but tested realistically in everyday life, presented lifelike and without exaggerated attention to religious and ideological sensitivities. Again and again a rather cheerful evil joke.

Valentine Trentin

And since I'm a self-confessed fan of Tom sharpe am, at least I will Valentine Trentins latest work to heart.

Pommier's Inferno — Ugly and confusing detours to love

“The ex-banker and early retiree Pierre Louis Pommier knows just enough about books to stay away from all arguments in literary circles at any time.

He would never have engaged in Dante's Divina Comedia of his own free will if he hadn't been forced to stay in the hospital for a few days after a car accident, where he could still hope for a more loving encounter after an ugly trip to hell.

Because waking up from a coma, he is from his former high school classmates, chief physician Dr. copper. Gian Andrea Maro, had been invited to a memorable and alienating trip to the gigantic basement of his hospital, rather contrary to therapy, in order to be shown around the numerous basements.

However, what he then had to discover to his astonishment and chagrin reminded him in a contrasting way of the excursions of Dante and Virgil into the INFERNO of the distant, inquisition-loving High Middle Ages with its glowing coffins and tormented howling victims of a rigid morality.

However, the punishments have been adapted by the highest heavenly command to modern and amazing uses of torture. But read more for yourself soon.

And the positive. Our antihero gets to know a woman in the course of the story and falls in love with her in a few detours. That alone gives the book salt and pepper. Promised."

Valentine's Trentins novel is scheduled to be published in summer 2022 and can already be ordered through him: info@valentin-trentin.ch


"If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking."

HARUKI MURAKAMI, Norwegian Wood (2000: 31)
You can support this weblog on Patreon!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Valentin Trentin

Pommiers Inferno

Beitragsfoto: Valentin Trentin | © Valentin Trentin

Jüngst musste ich den Wegfall von gleich mehreren Weblogs, die ich regelmäßig las, zur Kenntnis nehmen. Das hängt vielleicht auch damit zusammen, dass das Bloggen für die meisten von uns Blogger ein zeitraubendes Unterfangen ist. Und wenn man dann noch zur Überzeugung gelangt, dass man völlig gegen eine Wand schreibt, sinkt sicherlich auch die Bereitschaft, sich weiterhin in Blog-Form zu äussern.

Und als ich dann auf Valentin Trentins Blog schaute und diesen Post „Bulletin Nr. 207: Ruhe im Karton“ (24. März 2022) las, befürchtete ich schon, dass demnächst noch ein weiteres Weblog verschwinden wird. So war ich ganz froh darüber, als mich Valentin Trentin darüber informierte, dass er gerade verstärkt an seinem inzwischen achten Roman schreibt, um diesen auch bald veröffentlichen zu können — damit war mein Interesse nun mehr als geweckt.

Ich hatte zwar bereits zuvor Trentin schon einmal „gegoogled“, was mich auf Wikipedia führte, wollte jetzt aber doch ein wenig mehr über ihn wissen. In aller Kürze kann man ihn wie folgt beschreiben:

Valentin Trentin, Jahrgang 1948, lebt in Brugg (Schweiz) im Stadtteil Schinznach-Bad. Als ehemaliger Sekundarlehrer, Kantonsrat, Ausbildungs- und Personalleiter kennt er die Tiefebenen und Alltagswelten der pädagogischen Provinz, der Politik und des Geschäftslebens. Das Ergebnis: Nach wie vor Satire mit Biss, aber durchaus realistisch im Alltag erprobt, lebensecht und ohne übertriebene Beachtung religiöser und ideologischer Befindlichkeiten dargeboten. Immer wieder ein ziemlich heiterböser Spass.

VAlentin Trentin

Und da ich ein bekennender Fan von Tom Sharpe bin, werde ich mir zumindest Valentin Trentins jüngstes Werk einmal zu Gemüte führen.

Pommiers Inferno — Auf hässlichen und verwirrenden Umwegen zur Liebe

„Der Ex-Banker und Frühpensionist Pierre-Louis Pommier versteht von Büchern gerade mal so viel, dass er sich von allen Streitgesprächen literarischer Zirkel jederzeit fernhalten würde.

Er hätte sich aus freien Stücken sich auch nie mit Dantes Divina Comedia beschäftigt, wäre er nach einem Autounfall nicht gezwungen gewesen, ein paar Tage im Spital auszuharren, wo er nach einem hässlichen Höllentrip auf eine liebevollere Begegnung doch noch hoffen durfte.

Denn aus einem Koma erwachend, ist er von seinem ehemaligen Gymnasiums-Kameraden, Chefarzt Dr. med. Gian-Andrea Maro, eher therapiewidrig zu einem denkwürdig befremdenden Ausflug in den gigantischen Keller seines Krankenhauses eingeladen worden, um dort in den zahlreichen Untergeschossen herumgeführt zu werden.

Was er allerdings dann zu seinem Erstaunen und Leidwesen entdecken musste, erinnerte ihn im Verlauf dieser Streifzüge auf kontrastierende Weise an die Exkursionen von Dante und Vergil ins INFERNO des fernen inquisitionsfreudigen Hochmittelalters mit seinen glühenden Särgen und gequält heulenden Opfern einer rigiden Moral.

Allerdings sind die Strafen von der obersten himmlischen Heeresleitung neuzeitlichen und erstaunlichen Folteranwendungen angepasst worden. Doch lesen Sie mehr demnächst selbst.

Und noch das Positive. Unser Antiheld lernt im Verlauf der Erzählung eine Frau kennen und auf einigen Umwegen lieben. Das allein schon gibt dem Buch Salz und Pfeffer. Versprochen.“

Valentins Trentins Roman soll im Sommer 2022 erscheinen und kann schon jetzt über ihn bestellt werden: info@valentin-trentin.ch


„If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.“

HARUKI MURAKAMI, Norwegian Wood (2000: 31)

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.