Chamber Jazz

Entry photo: Finefones Saxophone Quartet in July 2022

I had already completed my compulsory program in Bad Wimpfen during my school days. The Bad Wimpfen monastery in the valley impressed me the most, not because the old walls were in a pretty bad condition, but because we students got to see the many bones in the basement of the monastery.

Today, more than 40 years later, they succeeded Hans Hambucher to lure me to Bad Wimpfen and specifically to said St. Peter im Tal. But not to admire the renovated cloister or the more than 100 grave slabs, which have now been donated by the Association of Friends and Sponsors of the Knights' Monastery of St. Peter zu Bad Wimpfen im Tal e. V in front of the outer walls of the cloister, but around it Finefones Saxophone Quartet to listen, but then in the cloister of the monastery.

First of all, a big compliment to the club, which has been receiving it since 2003 of the monastery dedicated, which is all the more important because in 2006 the branch of the Benedictine Abbey in Wimpfen had to be given up. And so some things have improved a lot since my last visit. And the association will probably succeed in ensuring that “St. Peter im Tal ... [should] remain a place where the praise of God is celebrated, a place where God is sought and seekers are welcomed in order to receive strengthening in spirit and body."

Now back to today's four saxophonists: Peter Lehel played the soprano saxophone and developed a range that I would not have thought possible. Pirmin Ullrich played the baritone saxophone, which I'm becoming more and more sympathetic to since I'm having more and more trouble with the higher notes. The tenor saxophone was made by Christian Steuber played and Carola Krettenauer stepped in at short notice as alto saxophone.

And so the meanwhile 12th matinee of this benefit concert "Classic in the Cloister" was a real pleasure. Hans Hambucher hadn't promised too much: "The euphony and diversity of the saxophone is celebrated here in the finest fourfold form with the subtle facets of sound culture and energy. The whole saxophone family pure ... improvised in rousing arrangements and compositions by Peter Lehel.” My better half and I really liked it, as did the 150 or so other visitors.


You can support this weblog on Patreon!

One thought on "Chamber Jazz"

Legal

  • Thomas Michl 🇪🇺

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Chamber Jazz

Beitragsfoto: Finefones Saxophone Quartet im Juli 2022

Mein Pflichtprogramm Bad Wimpfen betreffend hatte ich bereits während meiner Schulzeit absolviert. Dabei beeindruckte mich das Kloster Bad Wimpfen im Tal am meisten, nicht etwa weil das alte Gemäuer in einen ziemlich schlechten Zustand war, sondern weil wir Schüler die vielen Gebeine im Untergeschoss des Klosters zu sehen bekamen.

Heute, mehr als 40 Jahre später, gelang es Hans Hambücher mich nach Bad Wimpfen zu locken und zwar genau zu besagtem St. Peter im Tal. Nicht aber, um den sanierten Kreuzgang zu bewundern oder die über 100 Grabplatten, welche inzwischen durch Spenden des Vereins der Freunde und Förderer des Ritterstifts St. Peter zu Bad Wimpfen im Tal e. V. vor die Kreuzgangaußenwände aufgestellt wurden, sondern um dem Finefones Saxophone Quartet zu lauschen, aber dies dann doch im Kreuzgang des Klosters.

Zuerst ein großes Lob an den Verein, der sich seit 2003 dem Erhalt des Klosters widmet, was umso wichtiger ist, da 2006 die Niederlassung der Benediktinerabtei in Wimpfen aufgegeben werden musste. Und so hat sich doch Einiges seit meinem letzten Besuch sehr verbessert. Und es wird dem Verein wohl gelingen, dass „St. Peter im Tal … ein Ort bleiben [soll], an dem das Lob Gottes gefeiert wird, ein Ort, an welchem Gott gesucht wird und suchende Menschen aufgenommen werden, um Stärkung an Geist und Leib zu empfangen.“

Nun zurück zu den vier heutigen Saxophonisten: Peter Lehel spielte das Sopransaxophon und entwickelte dabei ein Bandbreite, die ich nicht für möglich gehalten hätte. Pirmin Ullrich spielte das Baritonsaxophon, welches mir zunehmend sympathischer wird, seit ich mit den höheren Tönen immer mehr Schwierigkeiten bekomme. Das Tenorsaxophon wurde von Christian Steuber gespielt und Carola Krettenauer sprang kurzfristig als Altsaxophon ein.

Und so war die inzwischen 12. Matinee dieses Benefitzkonzerts „Klassik im Kreuzgang“ ein wahrer Genuss. Hans Hambücher hatte nicht zu viel versprochen: „Der Wohlklang und die Vielfältigkeit des Saxophons wird hier in vierfacher Form mit den subtilen Facetten von Klangkultur und Energie auf das Feinste zelebriert. Die ganze Saxophonfamilie pur … improvisiert in mitreißenden Arrangements und Kompositionen von Peter Lehel.“ Meiner besseren Hälfte und mir hat es auf alle Fälle sehr gefallen, so wie den gut 150 anderen Besuchern auch.


One thought on “Chamber Jazz

Mentions

  • Thomas Michl 🇪🇺

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert