LNG | freedom | 1 year Joe Biden | Fundamentals | Particle Data Group

Feature photo: Image by S. Hermann & F. Richter | © Pixabay 

Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG)

Vincent Neumaier  and Omar Zeroual on January 21, 2022, the question arose in Wirtschaftswoche as to why Germany has no LNG terminals.

Luckily there are quite a few liquid gas terminals in other parts of Europe, so we can be glad that the terminals planned in the Baltic Sea were not built. Just imagine if the US tankers would have to drive past a few EU terminals, around Denmark and into the Baltic Sea, in order to then unload their gas there so that it can be transported back to the Ruhr area via our pipelines.

But that doesn't answer the question why we in Germany, e.g. B. on the North Sea, do not have such terminals.

In any case, we have made ourselves dependent on Russian gas unnecessarily and against all the warnings of our friends, discarded all alternatives and our storage tanks are slowly becoming empty. We will probably not be able to wait - but we will definitely do it! – that all gas deliveries arriving in Europe are first made available to us Germans.

You can find the corresponding article in Wirtschaftswoche here: https://www.wiwo.de/politik/deutschland/fluessigerdgas-importe-warum-deutschland-fast-als-einziges-land-keine-lng-terminals-hat/27994348.html


Freedom is becoming less and less important for the parties

Already wrote on September 20, 2021 Simon Hass and Kaspar Manz in the Neue Zürcher Zeitung (NZZ) an interesting evaluation of the election programs for the federal elections of our parties in Germany: “The term “freedom” is becoming less and less important in the German election programs. In the last two parties, it almost never came up at all.”

Now that the new government is in office, it's worth reading this article again, with no campaign in mind.

I have already mentioned elsewhere that it was the Liberals who made the need for environmental protection socially acceptable in Germany for the first time. Unfortunately, the FDP was not able to assert itself with corresponding actual and viable concepts and solutions and had to leave the field to the pure braggarts, who recently, once again in government, will also help to ensure that nuclear power, which they once so demonised, will now also take hold and which are likely to become even more damaging gas power plants across Europe as green energy.

It should come as no surprise to anyone that “the people” are becoming more and more out of fashion and “children” are becoming increasingly important. And the bigger the election programs become, the less they are read.

You can find the corresponding article in the NZZ here:

https://www.nzz.ch/visuals/wahlprogramme-bundestagswahl-freiheit-ld.1644576


America Needs a Bolder Biden

Emma Ashford draws January 20, 2022 in her article in Foreign Affairs on US foreign policy, first year of Joe Bidens presidency, a very sober conclusion. She admits that the "most experienced US foreign policy officer" Biden - George HW Bush — admitted, however, that it was very difficult after four years <br><br>Donald Trump to create the necessary trust again in order to be able to act internationally.

In her article, however, she lists some of the successes that have been achieved in the meantime, without omitting any faux pas that the Biden administration has already made.

Your conclusion is that Joe Bidens foreign policy is still too cautious and too old-fashioned — which is to be expected after more than 40 years in the political establishment. That's why she's asking him to be a little more courageous in his foreign policy decisions.

"The good news for administration officials is that these decisions are liable to be less politically costly than they might assume. There are many downsides to domestic polarization, but there is one upside, and that is relative freedom of action.”

Here is the relevant article in Foreign Affairs:

https://www.foreignaffairs.com/articles/world/2022-01-20/america-needs-bolder-biden


Fundamentals

I don't mean my article about them European fundamentals, which I also published on this weblog last year, but refer to the 2021 book by the Physics Nobel Prize winner from 2004, Frank Wilczek, which he published with the subtitle "Ten Keys to Reality".

He goes into the basics of our world and wants to make them as easy and understandable as possible for the reader. When reading I had to inevitably often Stephen Hawkings already published in 1988 book "A Brief History of Time", which I also really devoured.

A lot of time has passed since then and not only has our world moved on, but our science has also developed further. And that's how it is Frank Wilczeks most recent work was written more for laypeople like me to give them an update on the current state of knowledge.

I can't say whether the experts or even die-hard physicists will be happy about this book; but I suspect they will, from a very human point of view, perhaps criticize it as a bit too banal.

But for the average person, it's just the right dose of science to get a better understanding of our world, well beyond politics and trash TV — and maybe this new understanding will even lead to a change in your own actions.

What I particularly like about this book is that it quotes poets and philosophers in the book, which I like to read myself, and thus repeatedly makes reference to "perceived reality" and, quite incidentally, testifies to the fact that curiosity knows neither borders nor subject areas.

And so it is inevitable that he Ray Cummings with a bon mot quoted, which I have already included in my contribution to time change used.

And to make the book a little more curious, I quote Frank Wilczek (2021: 47) himself: "Time is what clocks measure, and everything that changes is a clock."

Find the book on Amazon here: https://amzn.to/343hWEv


Particle Data Group

Recommended for all those who want to delve further into the subject after reading the above book Frank Wilczek the Particle Data Group website: "The Particle Data Group (PDG) is an international collaboration that provides a comprehensive summary of Particle Physics and related areas of Cosmology: the Review of Particle Physics. "

For me this is already too much of a good thing.

Here is the Particle Data Group website: https://pdg.lbl.gov


"I have been at pains to be clear that science teaches us what is, not what ought to be. Science can help us attain our goals, once they are chosen, but it does not choose our goals for us."

Frank Wilczek, Fundamentals (2021: 227)
You can support this weblog on Patreon!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Bücherregal

LNG | Freiheit | 1 Jahr Joe Biden | Fundamentals | Particle Data Group

Beitragsfoto: Bild von S. Hermann & F. Richter | © Pixabay 

Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG) — Flüssiggas

Vinzenz Neumaier und Omar Zeroual stellten sich am 21. Januar 2022 in der Wirtschaftswoche die Frage, warum Deutschland keine LNG-Terminals hat.

Zum Glück gibt es aber in anderen Teilen Europas doch so einige Flüssiggas-Terminals, und so können wir wohl froh darüber sein, dass die in der Ostsee geplanten Terminals nicht gebaut wurden. Man stelle sich nur vor, da müssten die US-Tanker an einigen EU-Terminals vorbeifahren, um Dänemark herum in die Ostsee einfahren, um dann dort ihr Gas zu entladen, damit es über unsere Pipelines wieder ins Ruhrgebiet transportiert werden kann.

Das beantwortet aber nicht die Frage, warum wir in Deutschland, z. B. an der Nordsee, keine solche Terminals haben.

Auf jeden Fall aber haben wir uns unnötiger Weise und entgegen aller Warnungen unserer Freunde vom russischen Gas abhängig gemacht, sämtliche Alternativen verworfen und so langsam werden unsere Speicher immer leerer. Wir werden wohl nicht erwarten können — doch tun wir bestimmt! –, dass sämtliche in Europa ankommenden Gaslieferungen erst uns Deutschen zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Hier finden Sie den entsprechenden Artikel in der Wirtschaftswoche: https://www.wiwo.de/politik/deutschland/fluessigerdgas-importe-warum-deutschland-fast-als-einziges-land-keine-lng-terminals-hat/27994348.html


Freiheit wird für die Parteien immer unwichtiger

Bereits am 20. September 2021 schrieben Simon Haas und Kaspar Manz in der Neue Zürcher Zeitung (NZZ) eine interessante Auswertung der Wahlprogramme zu den Bundestagswahlen unserer Parteien in Deutschland: „Der Begriff «Freiheit» verliert in den deutschen Wahlprogrammen zunehmend an Bedeutung. Bei zwei Parteien kam er zuletzt fast gar nicht mehr vor.“

Jetzt, wo die neue Regierung im Amt ist, lohnt es sich diesen Artikel, nochmals und nun ganz ohne Wahlkampf im Hinterkopf, zu lesen.

Dass es die Liberalen waren, die die Notwendigkeit des Umweltschutzes in Deutschland erstmals salonfähig machten, hatte ich an anderer Stelle bereits erwähnt. Leider konnte sich die FDP mit entsprechenden tatsächlichen und tragfähigen Konzepten und Lösungen nicht durchsetzen und musste das Feld den reinen Schaumschlägern überlassen, die jüngst sogar, wieder einmal an der Regierung, mit dafür sorgen werden, dass sich nun auch die von ihnen einst so verteufelte Atomkraft und die wahrscheinlich sogar noch schädlicheren Gaskraftwerke in ganz Europa als grüne Energien durchsetzen werden.

Dass „das Volk“ immer mehr aus der Mode kommt und „Kinder“ immer wichtiger werden, dürfte niemanden überraschen. Und je größer die Wahlprogramme werden, umso weniger werden sie wohl auch gelesen.

Hier finden Sie den entsprechenden Artikel in der NZZ:

https://www.nzz.ch/visuals/wahlprogramme-bundestagswahl-freiheit-ld.1644576


America Needs a Bolder Biden

Emma Ashford zieht am 20. Januar 2022 in ihrem Artikel in Foreign Affairs über die US-amerikanische Außenpolitik, im ersten Jahr von Joe Bidens Präsidentschaft, ein sehr nüchternes Fazit. Sie gesteht dem „erfahrensten US-Außenpolitiker“ Biden — nach George H. W. Bush — allerdings auch zu, dass es sehr schwierig sei, nach vier Jahren Donald Trump wieder das notwendige Vertrauen zu schaffen, um international handlungsfähig zu werden.

In ihrem Artikel führt sie allerdings dann doch so einige inzwischen erreichte Erfolge auf, ohne allerdings kein Fettnäpfchen auszulassen, in die die Biden-Administration bereits getreten ist.

Ihr Fazit ist, dass Joe Bidens Außenpolitik immer noch zu vorsichtig und zu altbacken — was man nach über 40 Jahren im politisches Establishment wohl kaum anders erwarten kann — ist. Deshalb fordert sie ihn auf, etwas mutiger in seinen außenpolitische Entscheidungen zu werden.

„The good news for administration officials is that these decisions are liable to be less politically costly than they might assume. There are many downsides to domestic polarization, but there is one upside, and that is relative freedom of action.“

Hier finden Sie den entsprechenden Artikel in Foreign Affairs:

https://www.foreignaffairs.com/articles/world/2022-01-20/america-needs-bolder-biden


Fundamentals

Damit meine ich nicht meinen Artikel über die European Fundamentals, den ich im letzten Jahr auch auf diesem Weblog veröffentlicht habe, sondern beziehe mich auf das 2021 erschienene Buch des Physik Nobelpreisträgers aus dem Jahr 2004, Frank Wilczek, welches er mit dem Untertitel „Ten Keys to Reality“ veröffentlicht hat.

Er geht dabei auf die Grundlagen unserer Welt ein und möchte diese dem Leser möglichst einfach und verständlich nahebringen. Beim Lesen musste ich unweigerlich des öfteren an Stephen Hawkings bereits 1988 veröffentlichtes Buch „A Brief History of Time“ denken, welches ich ebenfalls richtiggehender Weise verschlungen habe.

Seither ist doch so einiges an Zeit vergangen und so hat sich nicht nur unsere Welt weitergedreht, sondern auch unsere Wissenschaft weiterentwickelt. Und so ist auch Frank Wilczeks jüngstes Werk eher für die Laien wie mich geschrieben, um diesen ein Update über den derzeitigen Wissensstand zu geben.

Ob sich die Experten oder gar eingefleischte Physiker an diesem Buch freuen, kann ich nicht sagen; ich vermute aber, sie werden es, aus ganz menschlichen Gesichtspunkten heraus, vielleicht als etwas zu banal kritisieren.

Für den Normalbürger ist es aber genau die richtige Dosis Wissenschaft, um ein besseres Verständnis über unsere Welt zu erhalten, ganz jenseits von Politik und Trash-TV — und vielleicht führt dieses neue Verständnis sogar dazu, dass man selbst etwas an seinem eigenen Handeln ändert.

Mir gefällt an diesem Buch ganz besonders, dass er Poeten und Philosophen im Buch zitiert, die ich selber gerne lese, und damit immer wieder auch den Bezug zur „gefühlten Realität” herstellt und ganz nebenbei bezeugt, dass Neugierde weder Grenzen noch Fachgebiete kennt.

Und so bleibt es auch nicht aus, dass er Ray Cummings mit einem Bonmot zitiert, das ich bereits u.a. in meinem Beitrag zur Zeitumstellung verwendet habe.

Und um auf das Buch noch ein wenig neugieriger zu machen, zitiere ich Frank Wilczek (2021: 47) selbst: „Time is what clocks measure, and everything that changes is a clock.”

Hier finden Sie das Buch auf Amazon: https://amzn.to/343hWEv


Particle Data Group

Für all jene, die sich nach der Lektüre obigen Buches weiter in die Materie vertiefen wollen, empfiehlt Frank Wilczek die Website der Particle Data Group: „The Particle Data Group (PDG) is an international collaboration that provides a comprehensive summary of Particle Physics and related areas of Cosmology: the Review of Particle Physics.“

Für mich ist das bereits schon wieder zu viel des Guten.

Hier finden Sie die Website der Particle Data Group: https://pdg.lbl.gov


„I have been at pains to be clear that science teaches us what is, not what ought to be. Science can help us attain our goals, once they are chosen, but it does not choose our goals for us.“

Frank Wilczek, Fundmentals (2021: 227)

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.