The alan parsons project

Post photo: detail of an Eve record cover (1979)

German television viewers are at least familiar with the beginning of the song "Luzifer" (1979), which was used in the first few years in the original and later in a modified form as the signature tune of the television magazine "Monitor" (since 1965), which is still broadcast today. This signature tune consists of a Morse code "E"-"V"-"E" at the beginning of the song, which is also the title of the entire album "Eve" (1979).

The Alan Parsons Project was founded in 1975 by Alan Parsons and Eric Woolfson and immediately caught my attention with his first album "Tales of Mystery and Imagination" (1976), since at that time Edgar Allan Poe was not only a topic in English lessons, but I also enjoyed reading his stories outside of school. Alan Parsons Debut album is based on stories by Edgar Allan Poe and the title is also that of a collection of stories by Poe. The song "A Dream Within a Dream" from this album and the poem it is based on have already been written by me in one older blog post listed.

The album "I Robot" (1977), which was released afterwards, is based on a collection of stories Isaac Asimovs, whose stories were very popular at the time.

For years the follow-up album "Pyramid' (1978) is my absolute favorite, and even today it's still enjoyed by the whole family.

The album "Eve" (1979) mentioned above was bought by me immediately after it was released and confirmed again that at Alan Parsons can't go wrong. That's why I immediately went for the two following albums "The Turn of a Friendly Card" (1980) and "Eye in the Sky" (1982).

Later I added the albums "Ammonia Avenue" (1984) and "Vulture Culture" (1985) to my CD collection, although I had to realize that my interest was now in other music groups and genres.

For the sake of completeness, I'll include these other albums: The Best of the Alan Parsons Project (1983), Stereotomy (1986), Gaudi (1987), Tales of Mystery and Imagination '87 (1987 ), the compilations "The Instrumental Works" (1988) and "Gold Collection" (1988), as well as "Live in Colombia(2016). In addition, there are countless other compilations that I neither know nor can list all of them.

Incidentally, the Alan Parsons Project disbanded in 1987.


"Take this kiss upon the brow! And, in parting from you now, So much let me avow –"

Edgar Allan Poe, A dream within a dream
You can support this weblog on Patreon!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

The Alan Parsons Project

Dem deutschen Fernsehzuschauer ist zumindest der Anfang des Songs „Luzifer“ (1979) bekannt, der in den ersten Jahren im Original und später dann in einer Abwandlung als Erkennungsmelodie des noch heute ausgestrahlten Fernsehmagazins „Monitor“ (seit 1965) genutzt wird. Diese Erkennungsmelodie besteht aus einem Morsecode „E“-„V“-„E“ zu Beginn des Songs, was zugleich auch der Titel des gesamten Albums „Eve“ (1979) ist.

Gegründet wurde das Alan Parsons Project 1975 von Alan Parsons und Eric Woolfson und erregte sogleich mit seinem ersten Album „Tales of Mystery and Imagination“ (1976) meine Aufmerksamkeit, da zu dieser Zeit Edgar Allan Poe nicht nur Thema im Englischunterricht war, sondern seine Geschichten auch außerhalb der Schule gerne von mir gelesen wurden. Alan Parsons Debütalbum basiert dabei auf Geschichten von Edgar Allan Poe und auch der Titel ist der einer Erzählungssammlung Poes. Der Song „A Dream Within a Dream“ aus diesem Album und das ihm zugrundeliegende Gedicht wurden von mir bereits in einem älteren Blogbeitrag aufgeführt.

Das danach erschienene Album „I Robot“ (1977) basiert auf einer Geschichtensammlung Isaac Asimovs, dessen Geschichten zu dieser Zeit sehr populär waren.

Über Jahre hinweg war dann das Folgealbum „Pyramid“ (1978) mein absoluter Favorit, und selbst heute wird es von der gesamten Familie noch gerne gehört.

Das oben bereits erwähnte Album „Eve“ (1979) wurde von mir dann sofort nach dem Erscheinen gekauft und bestätigte erneut, dass man bei Alan Parsons nichts falsch machen kann. Deshalb schlug ich auch gleich bei den beiden folgenden Alben „The Turn of a Friendly Card“ (1980) und „Eye in the Sky“ (1982) zu.

Später dann ergänzte ich noch meine CD-Sammlung mit den Alben „Ammonia Avenue“ (1984) und „Vulture Culture“ (1985), wobei ich aber feststellen musste, dass mein Interesse jetzt anderen Musikgruppen und -richtungen galt.

Der Vollständigkeit halber führe ich noch diese weiteren Alben mit auf: „The Best of the Alan Parsons Project“ (1983), „Stereotomy“ (1986), „Gaudi“ (1987), „Tales of Mystery and Imagination ’87“ (1987), die Kompilationen „The Instrumental Works“ (1988) und „Gold Collection“ (1988), sowie „Live in Colombia“ (2016). Darüber hinaus sind unzählige weitere Kompilationen zu finden, die ich weder kenne, noch alle aufführen kann.

Übrigens, das Alan Parsons Project hat sich bereits 1987 aufgelöst.

Take this kiss upon the brow! And, in parting from you now, Thus much let me avow –

Edgar Allan Poe, A dream within a dream

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.