Newspaper clipping from the Heilbronner Voice

Theater Heilbronn

Photo: Schäffler, newspaper clipping from the Heilbronner Voice (08.09.1979/XNUMX/XNUMX)

My own theater career was very manageable, it started and ended at the same time with Othello in 1979. At that time, theater was still being played in the union house, since a new building on Berliner Platz was a long time coming.

The advantage for us children and young people at the time was that from the time the old theater was blown up on July 18, 1970 until the start of the new building at the end of 1979, we had the entire Berliner Platz with its two fountains to ourselves.

For us young people, the demolition of the Old Theater and the demolition of Mercury on November 16, 1968 were two urban events that we still remember to this day: getting rid of the old ways to make room for the new. Some of those who were a bit older at the time may well have seen it with different eyes; but the mood of the time was one of progress.

Truly courageous decisions, from which we all still benefit today, and which could encourage the current decision-makers to hammer down further big-city stakes in Heilbronn after all these decades. There is enough space for that in Heilbronn.

I still like to think about the opening of the Heilbronn City Theater on November 16, 1982 and also to the first New Year's Eve celebrations there. Later on, I was only able to attend a few theater performances in Heilbronn, but I always gave the theater the uniforms I no longer needed and have been waiting ever since to rediscover one or the other part of it in a play.

I am very pleased that the Heilbronn theater has developed so well, contrary to all the prophecies of doom at the time, and that our city can no longer be imagined without it. I'm even happier when performances at the Heilbronn theater first shake up the audience and then even the newspaper readers, because "lulling" the citizenry is not an original task of the theatre.

Even though as I get older I come to the view below more and more...

"I must say that I prefer comedy. It's a sign of getting old, they say, but I can't help it. There is tragedy enough in the world. I don't think we have to buy our tears."

Charles Boyer as Charles Laure Hugues Théobald in All This and Heaven Too (1940)

... I am still convinced that exactly the opposite is the task of the theater, namely not only to hold up a mirror to us citizens, but to ensure that we also deal with the uncomfortable. And this whether we like it or not, because lulling people to sleep should continue to be reserved for old people's homes and hospices.

"Know what bugs me the most about those soaps? It's people with no lives, watching other people's fake lives."

Aaron Eckhart as Del Sizemore in Nurse Betty (2000)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Kategorien
Heilbronn

Theater Heilbronn

Meine eigene Theaterkarriere war sehr überschaubar, sie startete und fand zugleich mit Othello 1979 ihr Ende. Zu dieser Zeit wurde noch im Gewerkschaftshaus Theater gespielt, da ein Neubau auf dem Berliner Platz auf sich warten ließ.

Der Vorteil für uns Kinder und Jugendliche war damals, dass wir seit der Sprengung des alten Theaters am 18. Juli 1970 bis zum Beginn des Neubaus Ende 1979 den gesamten Berliner Platz mit seinen beiden Brunnen für uns alleine hatten.

Die Sprengung des Alten Theaters sowie die am 16. November 1968 erfolgte Sprengung des Merkurs waren für uns Jugendliche zwei städtische Ereignisse, die uns bis heute in Erinnerung blieben: weg mit den alten Zöpfen, um Platz für Neues zu schaffen. Manche der damals etwas Älteren mögen es durchaus mit anderen Augen gesehen haben; die Stimmung der damaligen Zeit war aber auf Fortschritt ausgerichtet.

Fürwahr mutige Entscheidungen, von denen wir alle heute noch profitieren, und die den jetzigen Entscheidungsträgern Mut machen könnten, um nach all den Jahrzehnten weitere großstädtische Pflöcke in Heilbronn einzuschlagen. Platz dafür gibt es in Heilbronn genug.

Gerne denke ich noch an die Eröffnung des Heilbronner Stadttheaters am 16. November 1982 und auch an die erste dortige Silvesterfeier zurück. Später dann konnte ich nur noch vereinzelt Theateraufführungen in Heilbronn besuchen, gab aber immer wieder meine nicht mehr benötigten Uniformen an das Theater ab und warte seither darauf, das eine oder andere Teil davon in einem Stück wiederzuentdecken.

Sehr freue ich mich, dass sich das Heilbronner Theater entgegen aller damaligen Unkenrufe so gut entwickelt hat und inzwischen auch nicht mehr aus unserer Stadt wegzudenken ist. Noch mehr freue ich mich, wenn Aufführungen des Heilbronner Theaters erst die Zuschauer und danach sogar noch die Zeitungsleser aufrütteln, denn das „Einlullen“ der Bürgerschaft ist keine originäre Aufgabe von Theater.

Auch wenn ich selbst mit fortschreitendem Alter immer mehr zu der unten stehenden Auffassung gelange …

„I must say that I prefer comedy. It’s a sign of getting old, they say, but I can’t help it. There is tragedy enough in the world. I don’t think we have to buy our tears.“

Charles Boyer als Charles Laure Hugues Théobald in All This and Heaven Too (1940)

… bin ich weiterhin davon überzeugt, dass genau das Gegenteil die Aufgabe des Theaters ist, nämlich uns Bürgern nicht nur den Spiegel vorzuhalten, sondern dafür zu sorgen, dass wir uns auch mit dem Unbequemen auseinandersetzen. Und dies, ob wir wollen oder nicht, denn das Einlullen sollte weiterhin den Altenheimen und Hospizen vorbehalten bleiben.

„Know what bugs me the most about those soaps? It’s people with no lives, watching other people’s fake lives.“

Aaron Eckhart als Del Sizemore in Nurse Betty (2000)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.