Music video of the week

5
(3)

Featured photo: Concert | © Image by Pexels on Pixabay

In 1971, the Doors released the song “Riders on the Storm” on their album LA Woman. One song on the LP came from John Lee Hooker, which alone guaranteed the success of the long-playing record.

The really amazing thing about the song released here is that it is not only inspired by the song “Ghost Riders in the Sky: A Cowboy Legend” from 1948 by Stan Jones be influenced, but also on Martin Heidegger should refer. Heidegger's concept of “thrownness” is often brought into play here, which describes the inevitability of existence in more detail.

Taking this into account, the 1970s song actually takes on a completely different meaning. Which, at least to me and perhaps to most other listeners, would not have been familiar at the time.

Into this house, we're born 
Into this world, we're thrown 
Like a dog without a bone

Riders on the Storm, 1971

I'm wondering if the band members are around Jim Morrison around have actually read Heidegger, or were not simply looking for a deeper reason for the success of one of their songs. Whatever the case, associating The Doors with Heidegger is somewhat unusual, at least from today's perspective, especially in the 1970s, when his involvement with National Socialism was increasingly being questioned.

The note is more understandable:

Girl, you gotta love your man 
Girl, you gotta love your man 
Take him by hand 
Make him understand 
The world depends on you

Riders on the Storm, 1971

Addendum 29.4.2024

I would be happy to comply with the suggestion that I could also add the “original”, which is from Stan Jones comes from. Personally, I still like it Johnny Cashs version is a little better, but the Blues Brothers version is also worth listening to again and again.

“Leave the informed sense in our wake
you be Christ on this package tour
– Money beats soul –
Last words, last words
out."

Jim Morrison, 1971

How helpful was this post?

Click on the stars to rate the post!

Average rating 5 / 5. Number of reviews: 3

No reviews yet.

I'm sorry the post wasn't helpful to you!

Let me improve this post!

How can I improve this post?

Page views: 62 | Today: 1 | Counting since October 22.10.2023, XNUMX

Share:

  • Heinrich, I'm currently reading the book published in 2023 Ilona Jerger and Konrad Lorenz. Reference is often made to Heidegger, as he was at the time of Konrad Lorenz lived, as well Wernher von Braun. H was denazified by the French and also had his teaching license revoked. Lg

Musikvideo der Woche

5
(3)

Beitragsfoto: Konzert | © Bild von Pexels auf Pixabay

1971 veröffentlichten die Doors auf ihrem Album „L. A. Woman“ den Song „Riders on the Storm“. Ein Lied der LP stammte dabei von John Lee Hooker, was schon alleine den Erfolg der Langspielplatte garantierte.

Das wirklich Erstaunliche am hier veröffentlichten Song ist es wohl, dass dieser nicht nur vom Lied „Ghost Riders in the Sky: A Cowboy Legend” aus 1948 von Stan Jones beeinflusst sein, sondern sich auch auf Martin Heidegger beziehen soll. Hierbei wird gerne Heideggers Begriff der „Geworfenheit“ ins Spiel gebracht, der die Unausweichlichkeit des Daseins näher beschreibt.

Dies berücksichtigend, bekommt das Lied aus den 1970er-Jahren tatsächlich eine ganz andere Bedeutung. Was zumindest mir und vielleicht auch den meisten anderen Hörern damals nicht geläufig gewesen sein dürfte.

Into this house, we’re born 
Into this world, we’re thrown 
Like a dog without a bone

Riders on the Storm, 1971

Ich frage mich dabei, ob die Bandmitglieder um Jim Morrison herum tatsächlich Heidegger gelesen haben, oder nicht einfach nur nach einer tieferen Begründung für den Erfolg eines ihrer Lieder suchten. Wie auch immer, The Doors mit Heidegger in Verbindung zu bringen ist gerade in den 1970er-Jahren, als dessen Verstrickung mit dem Nationalsozialismus immer mehr hinterfragt wurde, zumindest aus heutiger Sicht etwas ungewöhnlich.

Verständlicher eher der Hinweis:

Girl, you gotta love your man 
Girl, you gotta love your man 
Take him by the hand 
Make him understand 
The world on you depends

Riders on the Storm, 1971

Nachtrag 29.4.2024

Gerne komme ich dem Hinweis nach, dass ich doch auch das „Original“ anfügen könnte, welches von Stan Jones stammt. Mir persönlich gefällt weiterhin Johnny Cashs Version etwas besser, aber auch die Version der Blues Brothers ist immer wieder hörenswert.

„Leave the informed sense in our wake
you be Christ on this package tour
– Money beats soul –
Last words, last words
out.“

Jim Morrison, 1971

Wie hilfreich war dieser Beitrag?

Klicken Sie auf die Sterne, um den Beitrag zu bewerten!

Durchschnittliche Bewertung 5 / 5. Anzahl Bewertungen: 3

Bisher keine Bewertungen.

Es tut mir leid, dass der Beitrag für Sie nicht hilfreich war!

Lassen Sie mich diesen Beitrag verbessern!

Wie kann ich diesen Beitrag verbessern?

Seitenaufrufe: 61 | Heute: 1 | Zählung seit 22.10.2023

Weitersagen:

  • Heinrich, ich lese gerade das 2023 erschienene Buch von Ilona Jerger über Konrad Lorenz. Sehr oft wird hier auf Heidegger Bezug genommen, da er zur Zeit von Konrad Lorenz lebte, ebenso wie Wernher von Braun. H ist doch von den Franzosen entnazifiert worden, hat auch seine Lehrerlaubnis entzogen bekommen. Lg