Christmas Market

5
(3)

Post photo: Christmas market | © Shutterstock

Hardly a few months have passed and for some fellow citizens the Christmas season is just around the corner. Also, we have been living with COVID-19 for a few months now and we all know that we will have to deal with it for another few months, if not years.

The Heilbronn Christmas market has hardly been anything special compared to the corresponding markets in other cities and was correspondingly upgraded last year as the Käthchen Christmas market. Nevertheless, it was mostly used by the citizens who were in the city for other reasons and is therefore probably not an independent attraction in Heilbronn for the time being, which draws citizens from the surrounding area or even tourists to Heilbronn.

Therefore, the current situation would have been a good opportunity to examine two alternative options for a Heilbronn Christmas market over the past few months and to put one of them into practice. Both options would have had one thing in common right now, namely that they could have showcased Heilbronn's flexibility and innovative strength and thus made the "Käthchen Christmas Market" brand known nationwide.

Even if the Heilbronn Christmas market does not bring enough customer frequency to make a profit as an independent event, it would certainly have more guests on the Heilbronn Theresienwiese COVID-19 as a "unique selling point", especially in times when Christmas markets are being canceled everywhere due to a lack of a suitable concept and customers enticed than before at its prime. Even if it had not been a monetary gain for everyone involved, it would not only have given the showmen a positive signal and shown that Heilbronn is able to offer alternatives and try new things even in difficult times.

As a definitely viable alternative, a “trunk Christmas market” could easily have been set up on the market square, which would present individual stands typical of the Christmas market on behalf of all the other showmen in a small Christmas market format and send a positive signal during the Christmas season in accordance with COVID-19. Just being there would have given everyone in Heilbronn a Christmassy feeling and hope for the future.

It remains to be hoped that the city administration will succeed in putting up at least one Christmas tree on the market square.

"How I suffer from longing! If only it were Christmas!”

Hans Christian Andersen, The Christmas Tree (1844)

How helpful was this post?

Click on the stars to rate the post!

Average rating 5 / 5. Number of reviews: 3

No reviews yet.

I'm sorry the post wasn't helpful to you!

Let me improve this post!

How can I improve this post?

Page views: 38 | Today: 1 | Counting since October 22.10.2023, XNUMX

Share:

Kategorien
Heilbronn

Weihnachtsmarkt

Eine verpasste Chance

Kaum sind wieder ein paar Monate vergangen und schon steht für einige Mitbürger sehr überraschend die Weihnachtszeit vor der Tür. Auch leben wir bereits seit ein paar Monaten mit COVID-19 und wissen alle, dass wir noch weitere Monate, wenn nicht gar Jahre, damit klarkommen müssen.

Der Heilbronner Weihnachtsmarkt war bisher im Vergleich zu entsprechenden Märkten anderer Städte kaum etwas Besonderes und erfuhr entsprechend im letzten Jahr als Käthchen Weihnachtsmarkt eine kleine Aufwertung. Dennoch wurde er meist von den, in der Stadt aus anderen Gründen anwesenden, Bürgern genutzt und ist somit vermutlich auch bis auf Weiteres in Heilbronn keine eigenständige Attraktion, welche Bürger aus dem Umland oder gar Touristen nach Heilbronn zieht.

Deswegen wäre die derzeitige Situation eine gute Gelegenheit gewesen, um über die vergangenen Monate hinweg, zwei alternative Möglichkeiten eines Heilbronner Weihnachtsmarktes zu prüfen und auch eine davon in die Tat umzusetzen. Beiden Möglichkeiten wäre gerade jetzt eines gemeinsam gewesen, nämlich, dass sie die Flexibilität und Innovationskraft Heilbronns hätte zur Schau stellen und damit auch die Marke „Käthchen Weihnachtsmarkt“ überregional bekannt machen können.

Auch wenn der Heilbronner Weihnachtsmarkt an sich wohl nicht genügend Kundenfrequenz bringt, um als eigenständige Veranstaltung Gewinn abzuwerfen, hätte er gerade in Zeiten, wo Weihnachtsmärkte aller Orten mangels geeignetem Konzept abgesagt werden, auf der Heilbronner Theresienwiese COVID-19 gerecht als „Alleinstellungsmerkmal“ sicherlich mehr Gäste und Kunden gelockt als zuvor zu seinen besten Blütezeiten. Auch wenn er für alle Beteiligten kein monetärer Gewinn gewesen wäre, hätte er nicht nur den Schaustellern ein positives Signal gegeben und dabei gezeigt, dass Heilbronn auch in schwierigen Zeiten in der Lage ist, Alternativen anzubieten und Neues zu probieren.

Als auf jeden Fall gangbare Alternative, hätte man ohne Weiteres einen „Rumpf-Weihnachtsmarkt“ auf dem Marktplatz aufbauen können, der einzelne weihnachtsmarkttypische Stände stellvertretend für alle anderen Schausteller in einem Weihnachtsmarktkleinformat präsentiert und, COVID-19 konform, ein positives Zeichen in der Weihnachtszeit setzt. Schon alleine sein Nur-Dasein hätte allen Heilbronnern ein weihnachtliches Gefühl und Hoffnung für die Zukunft gegeben.

Bleibt nunmehr zu hoffen, dass es der Stadtverwaltung gelingt, wenigstens einen Christbaum auf dem Marktplatz aufzubauen.

„Wie leide ich vor Sehnsucht! Wäre es doch Weihnachten!“

Hans Christian Andersen, Der Tannenbaum (1844)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.