Pink Floyd

5
(1)

Post photo: Detail of Relic's record cover (1971)

When I first put "The Dark Side of the Moon" on my turntable, I knew I had to listen to the other Pink Floyd LPs as well. With "Wish You Were Here" I immediately made another stroke of luck and was now convinced that it was worth it Queen to hear more rock groups.

The 1977 record "Animals" then went quite well with what I was reading at the time, and so I set out to look at the older Pink Floyd records, which admittedly made me a Pink Floyd fan after a bit of getting used to them.

Interestingly, I first heard "The Wall" on the tennis court in 1980, so it probably took me a little longer to get used to the new style. At the end of my school days "The Final Cut" was released and at the same time it was a completely coincidental conclusion to my record purchases.

CDs became popular in the mid 1980's, leading to my collecting my favorite records in this format. Who would have thought back then that, decades later, people would be happy to go back to the old LPs — and some even to the singles.

"A Momentary Lapse of Reason" was only partially noticed in 1987, as was "The Division Bell", which I probably only bought out of habit in 1994.

Only when I rediscovered a few old LPs in a box after my retirement, which to my surprise had survived the many moves, did I rediscover "putting on records" and thus also collecting records. By now I should have all the Pink Floyd LPs together again, although I'm still more than annoyed about buying "The Endless River" (2014).

Pink Floyd was formed in Cambridge in 1965 and consisted of the musicians David Gilmour, Nick Mason, Roger Waters and Richard Wright; Syd Barrett had already left the band in 1968. Pink Floyd finally disbanded in 2015.

I don't want to end this post until I've compiled my very own Pink Floyd leaderboard — it won't come as a surprise to the attentive reader.

Pink Floyd released 1967 studio and three live albums from 2014 to 13. There are also a few so-called compilation albums, of which I think “Relics” and “A Nice Pair” are worth mentioning.

  • Wish You Were Here (1975)
  • The Dark Side of the Moon (1973)
  • The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (1967)
  • Animals (1977)
  • Ummagumma (1969)
  • Relics (1971)
  • A Nice Couple (1973)
  • The Wall (1979)
  • A Saucerful of Secrets (1968)
  • Meddle (1971)
  • Atom Heart Mother (1970)
  • The Final Cut (1983)
  • P U L S E (1995)
  • Is There Anyone Out There? The Wall Live 1980–81 (2000)
  • A Momentary Lapse of Reason (1987)
  • Delicate Sound of Thunder (1988)
  • The Division Bell (1994)
  • The Endless River (2014)

"What it comes down to for me is: will the technologies of communication and culture — and especially popular music, which is a vast and beloved enterprise — help us to understand one another better, or will they deceive us and keep us apart?"

Roger Waters, Penthouse Magazine (September 1988)

How helpful was this post?

Click on the stars to rate the post!

Average rating 5 / 5. Number of reviews: 1

No reviews yet.

I'm sorry the post wasn't helpful to you!

Let me improve this post!

How can I improve this post?

Page views: 13 | Today: 1 | Counting since October 22.10.2023, XNUMX

Share:

Kategorien
Allgemein

Pink Floyd

Manchmal muss es einfach nur Musik sein

Als ich das erste Mal die Platte „The Dark Side of the Moon“ auf meinen Plattenteller legte, wusste ich, dass ich auch einmal die weiteren Langspielplatten von Pink Floyd anhören muss. „Mit Wish You Were Here“ machte ich dann gleich einen weiteren Glücksgriff und war nunmehr davon überzeugt, dass es sich lohnt, neben Queen noch weitere Rockgruppen zu hören.

Die Platte „Animals“ passte 1977 dann auch ganz gut zu meiner damaligen Lektüre, und so machte ich mich auf, auch einmal nach den älteren Pink Floyd Platten zu schauen, welche mich, zugegebener Maßen nach etwas Eingewöhnung, endgültig zu einem Pink Floyd Fan machten.

Interessanter Weise hörte ich „The Wall“ 1979 erstmals auf dem Tennisplatz und benötigte wohl deshalb etwas mehr Zeit, bevor ich mich an den neuen Stil gewöhnte. Zum Ende meiner Schulzeit kam dann noch „The Final Cut“ in die Läden und war zugleich auch ein ganz zufälliger Abschluss meiner Plattenkäufe.

Mitte der 1980er Jahre wurden die CD populär, was dazu führte, dass ich meine Lieblingsplatten nunmehr in diesem Format sammelte. Wer hätte damals gedacht, dass man Jahrzehnte später gerne wieder auf die alten LP — und manche gar auf die Singles — zurückgreift.

„A Momentary Lapse of Reason“ nahm ich 1987 nur noch teilweise wahr, ebenso wie „The Division Bell“, die ich 1994 wohl nur aus Gewohnheit heraus kaufte.

Erst als ich nach meiner Pensionierung in einem Karton ein paar alte LP wiederentdeckte, welche zu meiner Überraschung auch die vielen Umzüge überstanden hatten, entdeckte ich erneut das „Plattenauflegen“ und damit auch das Plattensammeln. Inzwischen dürfte ich wieder alle Pink Floyd LP beisammen haben, wobei ich mich noch jetzt über den Kauf von „The Endless River“ (2014) mehr als ärgere.

Pink Floyd wurde 1965 in Cambridge gegründet und bestand aus den Musikern David Gilmour, Nick Mason, Roger Waters und Richard Wright; Syd Barrett hatte die Band bereits 1968 verlassen. Pink Floyd löste sich 2015 endgültig auf.

Dieser Beitrag soll nicht enden, bevor ich nicht meine ganz persönliche Pink Floyd Bestenliste aufgestellt habe — dem aufmerksamen Leser wird sie keine Überraschung sein.

Pink Floyd hat von 1967 bis 2014 insgesamt 13 Studio- und drei Live-Alben herausgebracht. Dazu kommen noch einige sogenannte Kompilationsalben, von denen ich „Relics“ und „A Nice Pair“ für erwähnenswert halte.

  • Wish You Were Here (1975)
  • The Dark Side of the Moon (1973)
  • The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (1967)
  • Animals (1977)
  • Ummagumma (1969)
  • Relics (1971)
  • A Nice Pair (1973)
  • The Wall (1979)
  • A Saucerful of Secrets (1968)
  • Meddle (1971)
  • Atom Heart Mother (1970)
  • The Final Cut (1983)
  • PULSE (1995)
  • Is There Anybody Out There? The Wall Live 1980–81 (2000)
  • A Momentary Lapse of Reason (1987)
  • Delicate Sound of Thunder (1988)
  • The Division Bell (1994)
  • The Endless River (2014)

„What it comes down to for me is: will the technologies of communication and culture — and especially popular music, which is a vast and beloved enterprise — help us to understand one another better, or will they deceive us and keep us apart?“

Roger Waters, Penthouse Magazine (September 1988)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.