Section of the jazz record cover

Queen

Post photo: detail of the Jazz record cover (1978)

If my generation in the 1970s and 1980s agreed on one thing, it was that Queen is a very good rock band. Founded in 1970, it existed for a good 20 years until death Freddie Mercurys on November 24, 1991 mainly consisting of the four musicians John Deacon, Brian May, Freddie Mercury and Roger taylor. Before Deacon, who joined the band in 1971, the electric bass still got through Mike Grose, Barry Mitchell and Doug Ewood Bogie occupied.

After the death of Freddie Mercury there were more attempts and always new band projects, which may still continue to this day, but at least for me are no longer relevant; I finally closed this chapter with the purchase of the "Queen Studio Collection" (2015), although I would also like to mention that I already said goodbye to Queen with "Made in Heaven" (1995), the last of a total of 15 studio albums .

A few years ago, while browsing through our CD collection, my sons discovered the Queen albums and started listening to Queen titles again and again - but in a completely different way.

So it is not surprising that the whole family got involved in the film "Bohemian Rhapsody“ and as a result Queen songs could be heard more often at home again.

My love for Queen began in the mid 1970s when I was my boyfriend Oliver Greuling drew attention to this group - at least that's how I remember it. My first self-purchased album was "News of the World" (1977) and after buying the album "Jazz" (1978) I was sure that I had to have the rest of the albums as well. Little by little I bought the older albums and became a Queen fan.

In 1980 I bought the record "The Game" and after going to the cinema to see "Flash Gordan", also the corresponding record (1980), although today I can no longer understand why I actually liked film and music at that time to have.

Due to the time, I bought the following records as CDs. Only when I retired did I start collecting Queen albums again in the form of long-playing records and putting them back on the turntable; I'm listening to "Jazz" and "News of the World" over and over as I write this post.

I don't want to miss listing my personal hit list of Queen albums:

  • News of the World (1977)
  • Jazz (1978)
  • A Night at the Opera (1975)
  • A Day at the Races (1976)
  • Sheer Heart Attack (1974)
  • A Kind of Magic (1986)
  • The Works (1984)
  • Queen (1973)
  • The Game (1980)
  • Innuendo (1991)
  • Queen II (1974)
  • The Miracle (1989)
  • Live Killers (1979)
  • Hot Space (1982)
  • Live Magic (1986)
  • Live at Wembley '86 (1992)
  • Greatest Hits (1981)
  • Greatest Hits II (1991)
  • ... every other record with Freddie Mercury
  • Flash Gordon (1980)
  • Made in Heaven (1995)

Last but not least, I would like to refer again to the "Queen Studio Collection“, not because I think the colorful long-playing records contained therein are particularly successful, but because the enclosed booklet is definitely worth buying the record. Those who don't have any old Queen records are probably the cheapest to get all the studio albums by this rock band, which is still very much worth listening to today.


"I like people to go away from a Queen show feeling fully entertained, having had a good time."

Freddie Mercury (May 2, 1981)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Queen

Wenn meine Generation in den 1970er und 1980er Jahren in einem einig war, dann darin, dass Queen eine sehr gute Rockband ist. 1970 gegründet, bestand sie gut 20 Jahre lang bis zum Tod Freddie Mercurys am 24. November 1991 hauptsächlich aus den vier Musikern John Deacon, Brian May, Freddie Mercury und Roger Taylor. Vor Deacon, der bereits 1971 zur Band stieß, wurde der E-Bass noch durch Mike Grose, Barry Mitchell und Doug Ewood Bogie besetzt.

Nach dem Tod von Freddie Mercury gab es noch weitere Versuche und immer wieder neue Band-Projekte, die auch bis heute noch andauern mögen, aber zumindest für mich keine Relevanz mehr haben; mit dem Kauf der „Queen Studio Collection“ (2015) habe ich dieses Kapitel endgültig geschlossen, wobei ich noch anmerken möchte, dass ich mich bereits mit „Made in Heaven“ (1995), dem letzten von insgesamt 15 Studioalben, von Queen verabschiedet habe.

Vor ein paar Jahren haben meine Söhne, beim Stöbern durch unsere CD-Sammlung, dann die Queen-Alben entdeckt und damit begonnen, ebenfalls immer wieder und gerne Queen-Titel anzuhören — allerdings dabei auf eine ganz andere Art & Weise.

So ist es aber auch nicht verwunderlich, dass die ganze Familie 2018 in den Film „Bohemian Rhapsody“ gepilgert ist und in dessen Folge Queen Songs wieder öfters zuhause zu hören waren.

Meine Liebe zu Queen begann Mitte der 1970er Jahre als mich mein Freund Oliver Greuling auf diese Gruppe aufmerksam machte — zumindest habe ich es so in Erinnerung. Mein erstes selbst gekauftes Album war dann „News of the World“ (1977) und mit dem Kauf des Albums „Jazz“ (1978) war ich mir sicher, dass ich auch die restlichen Alben haben musste. Nach und nach kaufte ich die älteren Alben und wurde damit zu einem Queen Fan.

1980 erwarb ich die Platte „The Game“ und nach dem Gang ins Kino, um „Flash Gordan” anzuschauen, auch die entsprechende Platte (1980), wobei ich es heute nicht mehr nachvollziehen kann, wieso mir Film und Musik zu dieser Zeit tatsächlich gefallen haben.

Die Folgeplatten erwarb ich dann, der Zeit geschuldet, als CD. Erst mit meiner Zurruhesetzung habe ich erneut begonnen, Queen Alben in Form von Langspielplatten zu sammeln und dabei auch wieder auf den Plattenteller zu legen; während des Schreibens dieses Beitrages höre ich „Jazz“ und „News of the World“ hoch und runter.

Ich möchte es nicht versäumen, meine persönliche Hit-Liste der Queen-Alben aufzuführen:

  • News of the World (1977)
  • Jazz (1978)
  • A Night at the Opera (1975)
  • A Day at the Races (1976)
  • Sheer Heart Attack (1974)
  • A Kind of Magic (1986)
  • The Works (1984)
  • Queen (1973)
  • The Game (1980)
  • Innuendo (1991)
  • Queen II (1974)
  • The Miracle (1989)
  • Live Killers (1979)
  • Hot Space (1982)
  • Live Magic (1986)
  • Live at Wembley ’86 (1992)
  • Greatest Hits (1981)
  • Greatest Hits II (1991)
  • … jede andere Platte mit Freddie Mercury
  • Flash Gordon (1980)
  • Made in Heaven (1995)

Last but not least möchte ich nochmals auf die „Queen Studio Collection“ aufmerksam machen, nicht weil ich die darin enthaltenen bunten Langspielplatten für besonders gelungen halte, sondern weil das beiliegende Booklet auf jeden Fall den Plattenkauf wert ist. Auch kommen jene, die über keine alten Queen-Platten verfügen, wohl am kostengünstigsten zu allen Studioalben dieser auch heute noch sehr hörenswerten Rockband.

I like people to go away from a Queen show feeling fully entertained, having had a good time.

Freddie Mercury (2. Mai 1981)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.