Nine plus five

5
(2)

Post photo: Heilbronn 1945 | Recording of the US Armed Forces | Scanned by Uwe Jacobi

When the European federalists reunited in a single association in 1973 after about 17 years of separation at European level, they agreed on three federal ideas and nine basic documents.

The sMEF/AEF reunification congress from April 13th to 15th, 1973 in Brussels, which met under the motto "The united European federalists fight for European democracy", decided that the European federalists from the body of thought Immanuel Kants, Alexander Hamiltons and Pierre Joseph Proudhons are inspired, and already included the common basic documents presented in this article in the preamble to the new statutes.

That Immanuel Kant and Alexander Hamilton belong to the thinkers is also undisputed to this day. The former lays down 1795 with his philosophical draft to eternal peace the basis for all federalists. Alexander Hamilton, one of the Founding Fathers of the United States of America and author of 51 of the 85 articles in the Federalist Papers (1788), thus essentially laying the foundations of modern, representative democracy. Pierre Joseph Proudhon is listed third because he is considered to be the source of ideas for communalism, which was already viewed by the majority in 1947, both by the world federalists and by the European federalists, as the view of federalism that should actually be striven for. Proudhon is still well known today for his statement "Property is theft", which is taken from his work "Qu'est ce que la propriété? Ou recherches sur le principe du droit et du gouvernement.' from 1840.

The nine fundamentals of federalism named by the European federalists are the Federal Union Guidelines (1939), the Principles for a new Europe of the Europa-Union Switzerland (February 1940), that Manifesto of Ventotene (July 1941), the Geneva declarations of the European resistance fighters (May 1944), that Hertenstein program (September 1946), the Declaration of the First Congress of Montreux (August 1947), the political resolution of the first congress of the EUROPA-UNION Germany (May 1949), adopted by the second congress in Montreux (April 1964). Federal Charter, and that adopted at the Nancy Congress in April 1972 historical policy statement.

Personally, I also add the following documents, most of which were created later, as important. For one, the political statement from the unification congress of the UEF itself, which was submitted on April 15, 1973, and on the other hand the twelve theses for Europe (April 14, 1964), the Kiel program for Europe (June 27, 1978), the Charter of European Identity (October 28, 1995) and the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union (December 1, 2009).

With the 14 documents listed here, you can get a comprehensive overview not only of European federalism, but of federalism as a whole, since the world federalists differ from the European federalists only in that the World Federalists since 1947 want to achieve world union via a world parliament (constitutionalists) and the European federalists decided in 1947 to first create free Europe, then Europe as a whole as a federal state and blueprint for other world regions and a later world union. Right from the start, the "Europeans" were divided into constitutionalists and institutionalists, with the former creating the European federal state via a European Parliament and the latter wanting to encourage the member states to grow together through common institutions.

The communalists mentioned above arose, at least in my opinion, from the currents of the Ordre Nouveau and the acceptance of the Christian principle of subsidiarity and thus still offer the only viable federal solution for present and future societies. I recommend it to anyone who doesn't believe that Michael Wolffsohn (2015) to read.

The greatest opponents of the communal idea, of all communities growing up from the municipality, across the regions to a federal state, are those who have made themselves comfortable in the current and mostly outdated structures. From the very beginning, these, together with nationalists and centralists, put the brakes on any further federal development and ensure that the United States of Europe and also a future world union - i.e. eternal peace - is a dream of many but only a dream remains.

Finally, I would like to point out that the European idea is also not compatible with pan-European ideas, and therefore European federalists are undoubtedly not “superstate Europeans” (Kemal Dervis, 2005).


"The age of the 'Enlightenment', that is, the optimistic belief in unrestricted progress through reason, has all but failed outside of science in Europe."

Eugene Kogon (1974: 23)

How helpful was this post?

Click on the stars to rate the post!

Average rating 5 / 5. Number of reviews: 2

No reviews yet.

I'm sorry the post wasn't helpful to you!

Let me improve this post!

How can I improve this post?

Page views: 3 | Today: 1 | Counting since October 22.10.2023, XNUMX

Share:

Kategorien
Europa

Neun plus fünf

Die Grundlagendokumente der Europäischen Föderalisten

Als sich die Europäischen Föderalisten 1973 nach einer ca. 17 Jahre dauernden Trennung auf europäischer Ebene wieder in einem einzigen Verband zusammenschlossen, einigten sie sich auf drei föderale Ideengeber und neun Grundlagendokumente.

Der sMEF/AEF Wiedervereinigungskongress vom 13. bis 15. April 1973 in Brüssel, welcher unter dem Motto „Die vereinten Europäischen Föderalisten kämpfen für die Europäische Demokratie“ tagte, beschloss, dass die Europäischen Föderalisten vom Gedankengut Immanuel Kants, Alexander Hamiltons und Pierre-Joseph Proudhons inspiriert sind, und führte die in diesem Beitrag vorgestellten gemeinsamen Grundlagendokumente bereits in der Präambel zur neuen Satzung mit auf.

Dass Immanuel Kant und Alexander Hamilton zu den Gedankengebern gehören, ist bis heute auch unstrittig. Ersterer legt 1795 mit seinem philosophischen Entwurf zum ewigen Frieden die Grundlage für alle Föderalisten. Alexander Hamilton, einer der Gründerväter der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika und Autor von 51 der insgesamt 85 Artikel der Federalist Papers (1788), legt damit wesentlich die Grundlagen der modernen, repräsentativen Demokratie. Pierre-Joseph Proudhon wird als dritter aufgeführt, weil er wohl als der Ideengeber des Kommunalismus gilt, welcher bereits 1947, sowohl von den Weltföderalisten als auch von den Europäischen Föderalisten, mehrheitlich als die eigentlich anzustrebende Sichtweise von Föderalismus angesehen wird. Heute noch allgemein bekannt ist Proudhon wegen seiner Aussage „Eigentum ist Diebstahl“, die aus seinem Werk „Qu’est ce que la propriété? Ou recherches sur le principe du droit et du gouvernement.“ aus dem Jahr 1840 stammt.

Die von den Europäischen Föderalisten benannten neun Grundlagen des Föderalismus sind die Richtlinien der „Federal Union“ (1939), die Leitsätze für ein neues Europa der Europa-Union Schweiz (Februar 1940), das Manifest von Ventotene (Juli 1941), die Genfer Deklarationen der europäischen Widerstandskämpfer (Mai 1944), das Hertensteiner Programm (September 1946), die Erklärung des ersten Kongresses von Montreux (August 1947), die politische Entschließung des ersten Kongresses der EUROPA-UNION Deutschland (Mai 1949), die vom zweiten Kongress in Montreux (April 1964) angenommene Föderalistische Charta, und die auf dem Kongress von Nancy im April 1972 verabschiedete historische Grundsatzerklärung.

Ich persönlich rechne noch die folgenden, meist auch später erstellten, Dokumente als bedeutend mit hinzu. Zum einen die politische Erklärung vom Einigungskongress der UEF selbst, welche am 15. April 1973 abgegeben wurde, und zum anderen die zwölf Thesen für Europa (14. April 1964), das Kieler Programm für Europa (27. Juni 1978), die Charta der Europäischen Identität (28. Oktober 1995) und die Charta der Grundrechte der Europäischen Union (1. Dezember 2009).

Mit diesen 14 hier aufgeführten Dokumenten können Sie sich einen umfassenden Überblick nicht nur über den europäischen Föderalismus, sondern den Föderalismus insgesamt verschaffen, da sich die Welt- von den Europäischen Föderalisten alleine darin abgrenzen, dass die Weltföderalisten seit 1947 die Weltunion über ein Weltparlament erreichen möchten (Konstitutionalisten) und die Europäischen Föderalisten sich 1947 dazu entschlossen haben, erst das freie Europa, dann Europa insgesamt als Bundesstaat und Blaupause für andere Weltregionen und eine spätere Weltunion zu schaffen. Von Anfang an haben sich die „Europäer“ dabei in Konstitutionalisten und Institutionalisten unterschieden, wobei die erstgenannten den europäischen Bundesstaat über ein Europaparlament schaffen und letztere das Zusammenwachsen der Mitgliedsstaaten durch gemeinsame Institutionen voranbringen möchten.

Die oben bereits erwähnten Kommunalisten entstanden, zumindest meiner Überzeugung nach, aus den Strömungen des Ordre Nouveau und der Akzeptanz des christlichen Prinzips der Subsidiarität und bieten damit auch heute noch die einzig tragbare föderale Lösung für jetzige und zukünftige Gesellschaften. Wer das nicht glaubt, dem empfehle ich Michael Wolffsohn (2015) zu lesen.

Größte Gegner der kommunalistischen Idee, einem Aufwuchs aller Gemeinschaften von der Gemeinde beginnend, über die Regionen hinweg bis hin zu einem Bundesstaat, sind dabei jene, die es sich in den derzeitigen und dabei auch meist überholten Strukturen selbst bequem gemacht haben. Diese bremsen deshalb von Anfang an, und dies zusammen mit Nationalisten und Zentralisten, jegliche föderale Weiterentwicklung aus und sorgen mit dafür, dass die Vereinigten Staaten von Europa und auch eine zukünftige Weltunion – also der ewige Friede – zwar ein Traum von sehr vielen aber auch nur ein Traum bleibt.

Zum Schluss möchte ich noch darauf hinweisen, dass sich die Europäische Idee auch nicht mit dem paneuropäischen Gedankengut verträgt, und damit Europäische Föderalisten zweifelsfrei auch keine „Superstaat-Europäer“ (Kemal Derviş, 2005) sind.

„Das Zeitalter der ‚Aufklärung‘, das heißt des optimistischen Glaubens an unbeschränkten Fortschritt durch Vernunft, ist außerhalb der Wissenschaft in Europa so gut wie total gescheitert.“

Eugen Kogon (1974: 23)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.